UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Business & Economics: Statistics

General Statistics Research Databases:
(UWM Libraries Subscription Resources)

Sage Data
Extensive repository of publicly, privately, and commercially sourced statistical time series data. Users can search and view charts, maps, and rankings of data at multiple geographic levels. Export formats include: Excel, PDF, Delimited Text, SAS, XML, Shapefile, and via DOI links. For more information on content, view Data-Planet’s guide to available datasets and sources.

Learn the basics of using Data-Planet:

Polling the Nations
Over 18,000 surveys conducted by more than 1,000 polling organizations in the United States and other countries.

Economic Census of the United States
Statistical data on the U.S. economy from the national to the local level; published by the U.S. Census Bureau.
U.S. Census Data
Data collected in various U.S. Census Bureau surveys.
Economic Research Portal of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
An economic information portal for librarians and students. The Research library of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
BEA: BEARFACTS
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) Regional Fact Sheet about personal income and gross domestic product (GDP).
Marketing Charts
Collection of 2,500 charts and data files related to marketing.
Data USA
Visualization tool for open US Government data regarding locations, occupations, industries, education and more.
Google Public Data Explorer
Explore and visualize large datasets from over 100 providers, including the World Bank, the U.S. Census Bureau, OECD, and many more.
___________________________________
Fiscal 50: State Trends and Analysis
Data visualization and interactive tool for data on key fiscal, economic, and demographic trends in the 50 states and their impact on states’ fiscal health.
more...less...
From Pew Charitable Trusts
Economagic
Access to more than 100,000 economic time series data.

OECD iLibrary
Contains books, journals, working papers and over 20 statistical databases released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) and other related organizations. Note: Content will no longer be updated after August 31, 2019 due to the cancellation of this database by UW-Madison.

► International Monetary Fund (IMF) open-access datasets:

► World Bank open-access datasets:

Sage Data
Library subscription database; extensive repository of publicly, privately, and commercially sourced statistical time series data. For more information on content, view Data-Planet’s guide to available datasets and sources.

Europa World
- This link opens in a new window
Political & economic information for over 250 countries and territories. After selecting a country, click Country Statistics view basic descriptive statistics for various subjects (e.g. Finance). Click Comparative Statistics to generate and download country data for a limited time series.

USA Trade Online
Current and cumulative U.S. export and import data for over 18,000 export commodities and 24,000 import commodities. Trade statistics are reported using either the Harmonized System (HS) up to the 10-digit level and/or the NAICS commodity classification codes up to the 6-digit level.
UN Comtrade (United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics)
**New: try the new beta version:** http://comtrade.un.org/data/
International trade statistics, provided by over 170 countries, detailed by commodity and partner country.
Note: The UN imposes a download limit of 50,000 per data query but no limitation on number of queries.
more...less...
Free access to all of the data available in the UN Comtrade database, which contains more than 1.75 billion trade records starting from 1962.

Note: For technical reasons at the UN, there is a download limit of 50,000 per data query but no limitation on number of queries.
TradeStats Express International Trade Administration
U.S. merchandise trade statistics at national and state levels, in maps, graphs, and tables, and as exports, imports, and trade balances.
U.S. International Trade Data (U.S. Census Bureau)
Detailed statistics on goods and estimates of services exported or imported between U.S. and other countries.
State Trade Data (U.S. Census Bureau)
State trade statistics by commodity and by country.