A resource guide for labor statistics on a local, national, and international scale.
Last Updated: May 8, 2013
Welcome to the UWM Libraries Labor Statistics online guide. This guide offers an extensive collection of research resources for labor statistics on a local, national, and international level. Short descriptions and direct links are provided for print resources, websites, and UWM subscription databases.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
The BLS is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. The BLS provides data and information on a wide variety of topics, including employment and unemployment, earnings and benefits, productivity, workplace injuries, collective bargaining, and union membership.
- International Labor Organization (ILO)
The ILO collects labor statistics and information from over 200 countries, from as early as 1945. This website provides access to a variety of ILO databases and online publications.
- Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development (DWD)
The primary responsibilities of the DWD include providing job services, training, and employment assistance to people looking for work and to help employers fill current job openings. The DWD also provides data on a wide variety of labor topics through its Office of Economic Advisors and its Labor Market Information System.
- United States:
- Labor Force Statistics
Based on the monthly Current Population Survey, this site offers statistics on labor force participation, the unemployment rate, hourly and weekly earnings, and more.
- Current Employment Statistics
Each month the Current Employment Statistics (CES) program surveys over 140,000 businesses and government agencies, representing approximately 440,000 individual worksites, to provide detailed industry data on employment, hours, and earnings of workers on nonfarm payrolls.
- National Compensation Survey (NCS)
The National Compensation Survey provides comprehensive measures of occupational wages, employment cost trends, and employee benefits.
- Local Area Unemployment Statistics (LAUS)
The Local Area Unemployment Statistics (LAUS) program produces monthly and annual employment, unemployment, and labor force data for Census regions and divisions, states, counties, metropolitan areas, and many cities.
An international database of labor statistics for over 200 countries. Data is available on employment and unemployment, hours of work, wages, occupational injuries, and strikes & lockouts. Other specialized data are also available.
- International Labor Comparisons
The BLS provides basic labor statistics for countries around the world including data on wages and benefits, labor force, employment and unemployment.
- Worknet: Wisconsin's Workforce and Labor Market Information System (LMI)
This Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development website includes links to Wisconsin-based data, publications, and maps on various topics, including labor force, unemployment, layoffs, occupation profiles (wages and salaries, projected job openings, etc.), largest employers, and more.
- Wisconsin Office of Economic Advisors: Economic Data
The Office of Economic Advisors (OEA), a division of the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development, publishes a variety of statistical reports, including employment projections, county workforce profiles, wages, economic indicators and more.
Head, Research & Instructional Support Dept.
Daniel M Soref Learning Commons
2311 East Hartford Ave.
Milwaukee, WI 53211