UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Labor Statistics: United States Sources

U.S. Census Bureau Sources

U.S. Census Bureau: Employment The U.S. Census Bureau provides labor force statistics, EEO data, commuting data and much more.
U.S. Economic Census The Economic Census profiles the U.S. economy every 5 years, from the national to the local level, and includes data such as numbers of employees by industry and total payroll. Industry information is searchable by NAICS code. Data may also be available via the American Factfinder.
County Business Patterns Subnational economic data by industry, including number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll. Data is available by state, zip code, and MSA.

Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The BLS provides information on a wide variety of topics, including employment and unemployment, pay and benefits, productivity, workplace injuries and more.
Labor Force Statistics
Based on the monthly Current Population Survey, this site offers statistics on labor force participation, the unemployment rate, hourly and weekly earnings, and more.
Current Employment Statistics
Each month the Current Employment Statistics (CES) program surveys businesses and government agencies to provide detailed industry data on employment, hours, and earnings of workers on nonfarm payrolls.
Local Area Unemployment Statistics (LAUS)
The Local Area Unemployment Statistics (LAUS) program produces monthly and annual employment, unemployment, and labor force data for Census regions and divisions, states, counties, metropolitan areas, and many cities.
_________________________________________________________________
BLS Wage Data by Area and Occupation
Access a list of links to various BLS wage data reports by occupation for the nation, regions, states, and many metropolitan areas.
National Compensation Survey (NCS)
The National Compensation Survey provides comprehensive measures of occupational wages, employment cost trends, and employee benefits.
Employment and Earnings
This monthly publication of the Bureau of Labor Statistics provides summary-level statistics on employment, hours, and wages for various geographic levels, such as national, state or selected local areas; includes some historical data for comparison.
Coverage online is 2007+; issues from 1960-2007 are located in general stacks: HD 5723 .A4532.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Overviews of more than 250 occupations, which cover approximately 107 million jobs. It includes job descriptions, working conditions, necessary training, education requirements, earnings and 10-year job prospect projections.
The most recent edition is available online; the library has print copies from 1951-present, with the most recent edition in the Reference collection : HF5381 .O23x .
_________________________________________________________________
Bureau of Labor Statistics Publications
Background papers and reports on trends and current topics in labor statistics; from 1996-present.
Monthly Labor Review
This monthly publication from the BLS offers articles and current statistics on topics such as employment and unemployment rates, working conditions and employment projections.

Bureau of Labor Statistics: Online Help

BLS Online Tutorials Video tutorials on how to navigate the BLS homepage and search for specific data.
BLS RSS Feeds Subscribe to various RSS feeds to receive updates on: employment trends, local unemployment statistics, and many other labor-related related topics.

Other Online Statistics Sources

Sage Data
UWM Libraries database; extensive repository of publicly, privately, and commercially sourced statistical time series data. For more information on content, view Data-Planet’s guide to available datasets and sources.

USDA Economic Research Service Links to basic information on many aspects of agriculture, including the patterns of farm labor use and the demographic and employment characteristics of hired farm workers. Statistical sources available on this site provide data on supply, demand, wages, earnings, benefits, and characteristics of farm workers at the national level.
Economagic: Economic Time Series Page This collection of economic data on the web includes over 100,000 economic time series, browseable by region, source, or "most requested" series. Economagic provides links to a wide variety of topics.

Print Resources

Handbook of U. S. Labor Statistics 2008 by Eva E. Jacobs (Editor); Bernan Press Staff
Call Number: HD8051 .H36
ISBN: 9780890596197
Publication Date: 2003-01-17
The most recent edition is located in the Reference collection (1st floor, west wing); older editions are in the General Stacks.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States by ProQuest Statistical Abstract of United States Staff; Bernan Press Staff
Call Number: HA202
ISBN: 9781598885910
Statistics on a wide variety of topics; published by the U.S. government.
Most recent edition at the Research Help Desk (1st floor, west wing).