UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Labor Statistics: International Sources

Online International Resources

OECD iLibrary
UWM Libraries subscription database; Contains books, journals, working papers and over 20 statistical databases released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) and other related organizations. Use the drop-down menus to search by the Employment theme and/or by country. Keyword searching is also available. Note: Content will no longer be updated after August 31, 2019 due to the cancellation of this database by UW-Madison.
OECD Labour Force Statistics (OECD iLibrary)
UWM Libraries subscription database; Detailed statistics on labour force, employment and unemployment, employment by sector and part-time employment. Also contains participation and unemployment rates by sex and detailed age groups and more.
ILOSTAT
As the successor to the LABORSTA database, this new ILO database of labor statistics provides multiple datasets with annual and infra-annual labor market statistics for over 100 indicators and 230 countries, areas and territories.
International Labour Organization
The ILO collects labor statistics and information from over 200 countries, from as early as 1945. This website provides access to a variety of ILO databases and online publications.
GenderStats
A World Bank database offering statistics on key gender topics by country, e.g. Labor Force.
Atlas of Social Protection: Indicators of Resilience and Equity (ASPIRE)
A World Bank database offering global social protection and labor (SPL) estimates, including data from 56 countries, mostly in the developing world.
International Labor Comparisons
The BLS provides basic labor statistics for countries around the world including data on wages and benefits, labor force, employment and unemployment.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets: Search for More Statistics

Sage Data
UWM Libraries database; extensive repository of publicly, privately, and commercially sourced statistical time series data. For more information on content, view Data-Planet’s guide to available datasets and sources.

Search Tips

Keep in mind that some international sources may use the term "labour" instead of "labor."

For more effective searching, use both terms by connecting them with "or" or conduct the search twice to ensure you do not exclude sources.

Historical Print Resources

OECD Labour Force Statistics Provides time series data on the population and labor force of the member countries of the Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD). Issues of Labour Force Statistics are available from 1954 to date.
Call Number: HD5764.A6 O58
Year-book of Labour Statistics Provides statistical data on employment, wages and unemployment. Editions from 1937 to 2006 (some gaps) are located in the General Stacks. The title was split into two new publications with the 2007 editions: Yearbook of Labour statistics. Time Series and Yearbook of Labour Statistics. Country Profiles. Click on those entries below to view call numbers.
Call Number: HD4826 .I63
Yearbook of Labor Statistics: Time Series Continues in part the prior publication: Year-book of Labour Statistics. The most recent edition is located in the Reference collection.
Call Number: HD4826 .I63
Yearbook of Labor Statistics: Country Profiles Continues in part the prior publication: Year-book of Labour Statistics. The most recent edition is located in the Reference collection.
Call Number: HD4826 .I632x