UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Business & Economics: Industry Research

UWM Libraries Subscription Databases:
Market Share/Rankings

Market share is the "portion of the total sale of all brands of a product competing in one market captured by one product...a critical factor in determining competitive position." (AMA Dictionary of Business and Management) __________________________

Market Share Reporter
Market share data for companies, brands, industries and more.
more...less...
Note: First, select Market Share Reporter from the Select Series drop down menu and then enter search term(s).
To search all editions simultaneously (2010 to present), uncheck "Search current edition(s) only."
Business Rankings Annual
Over 5,000 business rankings for companies, industries, products, and more.
more...less...
Note: To search all editions simultaneously (2011 to present), enter search term(s) in the Tools box on the right and uncheck "within latest edition."
Milwaukee Business Journal: Book of Lists
Print publication with rankings for Milwaukee area businesses, industries, & more; located in the Reference Collection (1st floor, west wing).
Top Choice Awards: Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
Most recent results for Milwaukee Journal Sentinel's annual community survey.

UWM Libraries Subscription Databases: Industry Profiles

Mergent Intellect: First Research
Detailed profiles on over 500 industries; includes overview; industry indicators, drivers and forecasts; competitive landscape; sales & marketing; critical issues, trends, challenges and opportunities; financial benchmark data; and more.
* NOTE:Click link above, then scroll down to "First Research." Select that link and you will be redirected to the First Research Database.
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys (via NetAdvantage)
Industry and market research, including direct access to current and archived S&P Industry Surveys.
ProQuest One Business: Industry Reports
Browse by sector, country, and report provider.
Business Source Premier: Industry Reports
Access MarketLine Industry Profiles for hundreds of industries worldwide. Includes a "Five Forces" competition analysis.
____________________________________________________
Business Reference E-Books (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Collection of online reference books on marketing, brands, industries, small business and more. See the list below for selected titles.

Trade/Industry Associations

Good resources for industry information may often be found on industry association websites.

To find the sites for specific trade associations, conduct a Google search for: name of your industry and association or try one of the following links:

Open-Access Web Sites

U.S. Census Bureau: Business & Economy
Statistics collected on businesses and the U.S. economy from the national to the local level. Specific reports & programs of interest listed below:
Economic Census of the U.S. Statistical data collected on every industry at five year intervals (on the 2s and 7s). Data reported at various geographic levels.
Economic Indicators Monthly and quarterly indicators for selected sectors; reported at the national level.
Other Economic Programs:
   -- Annual Survey of Manufactures
   -- Annual Retail Trade
   -- County Business Patterns
   -- E-Commerce (E-STATS)
   -- Service Annual Survey
   -- and more.
________________
SBDCnet: Small Business Snapshots
Brief market research reports from the National Information Clearinghouse of the U.S. Small Business Administration.

Business & Economics

What is your Industry Code?

Featured Reference Books (print)

UWM Libraries Subscription Databases:
Market Share/Rankings

UWM Libraries Subscription Databases: Industry Profiles

Trade/Industry Associations

Open-Access Web Sites

Business & Economics

UWM Libraries Subscription Databases: Market Share/Rankings

UWM Libraries Subscription Databases: Industry Profiles

Trade/Industry Associations

Open-Access Web Sites

UWM Libraries Subscription Databases:
Market Share/Rankings