UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Business 462: Marketing Research (Chiu): Industry / Market Research

* Featured Library Databases: Industry Profiles

Market Share Reporter (Gale Directory Library)
Provides market share data for thousands of companies, brands, products, industries, and more.

NOTE: The default search is the current edition only; to expand your search results to all available years, uncheck the box labeled "within latest edition" on the right side of the screen.

more... less...

Compiles market share reports from a wide range of publications; covers private and public sectors worldwide, especially markets that are highly competitive, on the leading edge of technology, in the news, or have extensive coverage in the trade press.
Each entry features the market share data; a brief description; original source of the data; subject category; and NAICS/SIC industry codes (if applicable).

________________________________________________________________________

Mergent Intellect: First Research
Detailed profiles on over 500 industries; includes drivers & forecasts for the industry; competitive landscape; analysis of critical issues, trends, challenges and opportunities; financial benchmark data; news and more.

* NOTE: Click link above, then scroll down to "First Research." Click that link and enter your email address to access the database.

What is an Industry Code?

► Identify the NAICS code(s) for an industry:

Many business databases also provide a NAICS code look-up; some still use the prior industry code system: Standard Industrial Classification (SIC).

What is Market Share?

Example: LEADING LIQUID REFRESHMENT TRADEMARKS
(S&P Global Market Intelligence;NetAdvantage; CFRA Industry Surveys)

Table presenting market share for leading liquid refreshment trademarks

From The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management:
Market share is the portion captured by one product of the total sale of all brands competing in that market and is a critical factor in determining competitive position.

From Investopedia:
Market share is used to give a general idea of the size of a company to its market and its competitors.

More Research Tools: Industry

Business Source Premier: Industry Reports
Profiles for hundreds of industries worldwide from MarketLine.
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys (via NetAdvantage)
Access to current and archived S&P Industry Surveys. (Click Industry Surveys on top blue menu bar within the database.)
More Industry Research Databases
Access additional industry research tools from the main UWM Libraries Business & Economics Research Guide.