Skip to Main Content

History Research Methods

This guide is designed to provide resources and tutorials for common methods in History research. This guide also supports the coursework of History 593 and 600 during semesters when these course are offered.

Primary Source Collections at the UWM Libraries

UWM Libraries houses an incredible variety of primary source collections available to UWM researchers (and anyone). Find hours for the American Geographical Society Library, Archives, and Special Collections listed on the Libraries' hours page. Walk in visits to these units are OK, but appointments are strongly preferred because materials require special handling. 

UWM Archives and Area Research Center

Contact: ASKARCH@UWM.EDU or Fill out the Ask an Archivist form

Location: Milwaukee Campus Library 3rd floor, West wing

Help with:

  • Primary Research Support and Primary Source Literacy instruction
  • History reference materials and vital statistics for Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Sheboygan, Washington, and Waukesha Counties
  • University records and local manuscript collections
  • WTMJ Footage
  • Inter-archives loan requests

Digital Collections:

UWM Special Collections

Contact: LIBSPECIAL@UWM.EDU

Location: Milwaukee Campus Library 4th Floor

Help With:

  • Rare and unique printed and published materials (zines, pamphlets, ephemera)
  • Rare books and illuminated manuscripts and art
  • UWM Author's Collection and Morris Fromkin Memorial Lecture
  • Primary source literacy instruction

Digital Collections:

American Geographical Society Library

Contact: AGSL@UWM.EDU

Location: Milwaukee Campus Library 3rd floor, East wing

Help With:

Digital Collections: