UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: HIST 593: Seminar on Historical Method: Theory and Approach: Search Historical Newspapers

Major Publications

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1999)
The Chicago Tribune (1849-1999) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (1881-2000) This link opens in a new window
The Los Angeles Times (1881-2000) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (1851-2020) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post (1877-2007) This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post (1877-2007) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal (1889-2012) This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal (1889-2012) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Visit the News type databases page for a full listing of Newspaper Databases.

Newspapers.com Library Edition - World Collection. This link opens in a new window
Newspapers.com Library Edition - World Collection contains historical newspapers from the 1700s - 2000s. Included are thousands of well-known regional, state, and small local newspapers in the United States and other countries. There are 150 Wisconsin-specific titles including the Janesville Daily Gazette, the Racine Daily Herald, the Eau Claire Leader, and many more.

To limit results to Wisconsin newspapers,

Enter the name of the state or city in the location box
OR
Click on the globe icon and select the geographic region you'd like to search within

Newspaper.com search bar with location field and search by map filter highlighted

Milwaukee Defender 1957-1958
An African-American newspaper published between 1957 and 1958.
Soul City Times 1968-1971
An African-American newspaper published between 1968 and 1971. In 1971, the Soul City Times merged with the Milwaukee Star.
Milwaukee Star
1960's black newspaper that was the self proclaimed "Voice of the Negro in Wisconsin." A community newspaper that ranged from features such as the "Miss Milwaukee Star" and "Northside Voters Voice" to an interview with Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. in Milwaukee in 1964.
Milwaukee Courier 1964-
Beginning in 1964, the Courier became Milwaukee’s second African-American newspaper in print at the time. The Courier is currently still in print.
La Guardia, 1969-1985
Browse digital issues of La Guardia in the Wisconsin Historical Society Digital Archives. La Guardia claims to be the first Spanish-speaking newspaper in Milwaukee. The publication's goal was to "serve as the voice of the Latino Community." La Guardia intended to be the mode of communicating "important and interesting news," both nationally and locally, that affects the community, in combination with serving as a reference to local activities.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1909-1975) This link opens in a new window
The Chicago Defender (1909-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

UWM Post Digital Collection
The UWM Post has served as UWM's unofficial news outlet and a primary source of news about campus activities, the university administration, and the greater Milwaukee area. It published on a weekly basis and was operated entirely by student staff. The Post printed its last issue in November 2012 and has published online exclusively since 2013. The digital collection represents an almost complete run of the Post; gaps in the digital collection reflect gaps in the physical collection housed in the UWM Archives.
Kaleidoscope, 1967-1971
Kaleidoscope was an underground newspaper published in Milwaukee from October 6, 1967 to November 11, 1971, and covered issues from an alternative and radical-liberal perspective, addressing American politics, police actions, civil rights, gender issues, sexuality, activist activities, and contemporary art, music, and literature.
Black Student Union Publications (Invictus), 1970-1995
The Black Critic, along with the Black Student Union Newsletter, was published in the early 1970s by members of the UWM Black Student Union (BSU). The organization wanted to establish a student newspaper that would be a voice for the growing Black student population at UW-Milwaukee. The Black Critic was short-lived due to lack of support and resources, but it stood as a foundation for Invictus, the longest-running of the Black Student Union publications. Invictus, launched in 1977, included news features, profiles, and poetry.