Everyone who enters the Learning Commons and Library goes to a variety of destinations, but they will always pass by the Welcome Desk. At the Welcome Desk, we are not only just available for questions, but we are making connections with people coming into the library. The key to great customer service is Empathy.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Table of Contents
At the Welcome Desk you will find lots of resources to help you. This Welcome Desk Service page is easily searchable and has a lot of pertinent campus information. Learn as much as you can about the Learning Commons, the Library, and UWM Campus
Custodial, Building, and Emergency Contacts
Customer Service Basics
Your Welcome Desk Shift
.
When dialing a campus number from on-campus, use the full number and area code.
Custodial Needs (For spills, restroom clean-up, clogs, paper supplies, etc.):
Steve Keltner: 414-229-6683, Cell 262-910-1837
Mark Wahl (2nd shift) 414-416-9147
Campus Heat Plant: 414-229-4652 (after 11 PM and weekends)
IMPORTANT: If anyone asks for a custodian while you are at the Welcome Desk (or any other place in the building), please direct that person to Steve Keltner. Even if you know the general area where the custodian works, these staff members are the best person to handle these inquiries.
Other contact people for building/emergency information:
Steve Keltner: 414-229-6683, Cell 262-910-1837
Campus Police: 414-229-4627 (non emergencies); 911 (emergencies only this will go to the UWM campus police anyhow)
Internet Problems? Check UITS Alerts Page
What Computers Can I Use?
Students: Students can use all computers. See the Campus Computer Labs for other labs.
Students can also check out a wireless laptop from Media and Reserve Services.
Non-students: 20 in the Grind area and 2 each in Media, Curriculum, and Music. Web Kiosk map.
Computer Kiosks: These are located throughout the library near
Software on Campus Computers: Also See Insert
Wireless Access: Wireless access is available throughout the library. See insert in binder. Non-students can access the wireless network by using the PUBLIC WIFI network.
Library website problems: If the library homepage is not working, chances are the catalog and other tools still are. In this case, this web page has links to library websites. Some links may be slow to load, but they should still work, even if the homepage crashes.
Technology Consultant Help Desk: Technology consultants can assist patrons with the new WEPA Printing System.
Prices: See the web page.
Learning Commons: Three stations in the south Learning Commons and three on the north Commons.
Color Printer: Some computers have the option to print in color, students must chose this option before they send their print job to print.
Copiers – Copiers were removed from the building as of October 2017.
Scanners (free)
Microform: In the Microtext Research Collection.*
*Please see the Media and Reserve staff for help.
Campus Phones: There are no longer any pay phones on campus. For calls within the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee campus, there is a phone under the LCD monitor in the lobby of the West Wing.
Fax Machine
Sandburg Hall Front Desk: $1.50/page. CURRENT & verified October 2021
Clark Graphics on Oakland Avenue http://clark-graphics.com/ $1.00 per page for the first three pages 0.50 after for local numbers.
Office Supplies/Equipment
Audio Recorders, Digital Cameras/Camcorders, Headphones, Calculator, Laptops, etc: Media and Reserve Services. See inserts.
For specific web pages on these pieces: Laptops, Digital Cameras, Audio Recorders
Paper cutter: Guillotine-cutter at Media and Reserve Services, lower level, west.
Pencil sharpener: Lower Level lobby west wing, Media and Reserve Services, Campus Technology Consultants Station
Electric hole punch: Lower Level lobby west wing and at the Campus Technology Consultants Station.
Typewriter: In a room on the Lower Level; ask Circulation for keys.
Bathrooms & Drinking Fountains
Nearest: On every other floor in the stairwell lobbies. Nearest bathroom to the Welcome Desk is downstairs and straight ahead.
Learning Commons: North side past the Circulation Desk and to the left. There is also a drinking fountain along the south wall of the South Commons.
Water bottle filler near the restrooms in the Learning Commons
Cannot Find a Book or Journal in the Stacks: Ask for assistance from Ask A Librarian desk for collection information or Circulation desk for location information.
Group Study Areas
Group Study Rooms: Can be reserved immediately using the D!BS! system up to two weeks in advance; see the insert and web page. To direct students to group room reservation page, click on the Learning Commons link on the library homepage. Welcome Desk and Ask a Librarian Desk both have copies of Group Study Room schedules.
W111: South Commons near library administration.
W110N: South Commons west wall (this room is only open after 5pm)
W164: North Commons behind The Grind barista counter.
W171 and W173: North past the Circulation desk and to the left.
Group Study Spaces: Along the outer walls of the South Commons area; first come, first served.
Tables in the Skyways: Encourage group use of these areas if other rooms are taken.
Administrative or behind the scenes areas
W115: This is the director’s conference room. Please direct patrons behind you. Encourage them to walk to the end of the reference materials and take a right turn in the administration area. This area is open Monday – Friday 8:00 am – 4:30 pm. People needing to find this location are typically faculty or campus administrators.
W231: Second floor West wing. This is a meeting room in the staff-only area of the library. There are lots of meeting scheduled in this room. Occasionally, vendor representatives may request this room or outside library people may request this room. They should have someone that they are meeting. Please call the library staff they are scheduled to meet and have them come to the Welcome Desk.
Bulletin Board: A bulletin board is available for public posting near the 4th floor elevators. Any group may post information. There are extra push pins.
Hand Sanitizer & Sanitizing Wipes: Hand Sanitizers are at other various points throughout the building.
Lockers: In the Learning Commons near the Television. Lower Level West Wing, the second floor across
Lost and Found: Located at Circulation Desk.
E170: First floor, east wing (supplemental instruction).
Bolton Hall, room 120-1st floor: Main Offices. See the PASS insert for more info.
Mail Box/Buying stamps:
Mail Box(Post box): in front of the Union along Kenwood.
Buying stamps: The Union Bookstore is the only place on campus that sells stamps. They can be purchased at the service counter.
Parking
Parking is now available 24 hours a day in the Union Parking Garage…
A map of all the campus parking locations can be located at http://webgis.uwm.edu/TransportationServices/.
Quiet Study Areas: Second floor East Wing near the windows and
Reserve: Lower level, west wing. Remind students that we don’t have all textbooks, but if their instructor has indicated that they have placed an item on reserve. They should head down the main stairs and take a left.
Room Numbers, Commonly Requested – point out on Floor Plan (Handout)
Classroom A (W194): Go north past the main service desk and take a left; go all the way back.
Classroom B (W190): Go north past the main service desk and take a left.
W150 Is the general room number for the Learning Commons (some instructors use this as a point of reference.
E170: General PASS tutoring and supplemental Instruction area.
E281: Second floor East wing to the right, just across the bridge connecting the wings.
Digital Humanities Lab: Second floor east wing just behind the Curriculum Collection
Research Consultation : Check in with the Ask a Librarian Desk to see where you will meet your librarian.
W110N, W111, W171, W173, W164: See Group Study Areas on this page.
W301 (Roosevelt Room): Third floor, West wing.
Soda/Snack Machine: Just north of Campus Technology Consultant’s Station in the Learning Commons.
Specific Workshops/Instruction Sessions: Refer to the weekly schedule for information.
Study Carrels: For faculty, instructors, and graduate TAs only. The Circulation desk has the forms.
Writing Center: The main offices are in Curtin 127.
Borrowing Information
Library Card: Your UWM ID is your library card. The https://uwm.edu/retailservices/panthercard/
PantherCard aka UWM ID office is located in the Student Union W198. For non-students, refer to Circulation.
Renewing Book: Renew online in Search@UW by logging into “My Account”; Or renew in person at Circulation.
Summer Privileges: Students can check out materials during the summer if they were registered for Spring semester and and are registered for Fall. If they are moving from undergrad to grad they may have to have circulation do something extra. Any further questions please refer patrons to circulation.
Community Borrowers: Membership gives you borrowing privileges. Forms are at Circulation.
Special Borrower’s Permit Card: Issued to various categories of users. Ask at Circulation.
Who can do what at the UWM Libraries chart: see the paper chart in the binder under “Library Services”
Getting Books from Other Libraries
UW-System Borrowing: Request items directly from other UW Libraries. For requesting, refer to the Ask a Librarian Desk. To pick up items, refer to Circulation.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL): Obtains research materials not owned by UWM Libraries. To find these items, use Ask a Librarian Desk. For specific questions, ask at Circulation (where ILL will be paged).
Other Library Information
Bulletin Board for Flyers: The library has no public bulletin board to use as advertisement space.
Donating books: The Library welcomes donations; see the insert. Have patrons go to the Circulation Desk
Disability Services: Adaptive Technology, closed captioned videos, large print books, etc: see link or insert
Exhibits: See the Library blog (“News and Events” link on homepage): “Current Library Exhibits.”
Genealogical Research: Send to Archives, not the Research Help Desk.
Grind Hours: Check the hours online.
Library Instruction Requests – If a faculty member needs to schedule time for their class to get instruction please refer them to the “Research Help Lamp” at the long service desk in the Learning Commons. Or have them fill out the online form located under the forms link on the library home page.
Recommending a Book for Purchase: Fill out the form found online under “Forms and Services.”
Student Employment: Refer to the personnel office at the end of the reference collection.
Taxes/Books on Taxes
Tax Collection: This has been integrated into the general stacks. Refer to Ask a Librarian desk for details.
Tax Forms: Accessible from the links on the UWM Libraries home page. See also a print-out of this page in this binder and in the drawer behind you. Refer to Research Help Desk for assistance. There is also a Research & Course Guide titled “Tax Forms”.
Service Animal: If someone comes into the building with an animal, you may ask them if it is a service animal (see Question #7). If they say no, they need to leave the building. If they say yes, please let them proceed (the animal does NOT need to be wearing a vest or have official documentation). Per the ADA, only dogs are recognized as service animals.
User Rights and Responsibilities
Welcome Desk Philosophy of Service
Your Welcome Desk Shift is very important to helping students and other patrons when they enter the library.
If you need to miss your shift please Use the Welcome Desk c
| ARCHIVES | |
| Provides | Reference services, archives for UWM, archives for Milwaukee area. |
| Location | 3nd floor, West wing at the top of the stairs to the left. |
| Hours | |
| Contact | 414-229-5402 |
| Website | http://www.uwm.edu/libraries/archives |
| AGSL (American Geographical Society Library) | |
| Provides | Cartographic, photographic, monographic, and GIS collections. |
| Location | 3rd floor, East Wing. |
| Hours | Monday-Friday: 8am-4:30pm; Weekends and Holidays: closed. |
| Contact | 414-229-6282 |
| Head | Marcy Bidney |
| Website | http://www.uwm.edu/libraries/agsl |
| Curriculum Collection | |
| Provides | Professional collection, Children’s/YA literature, K-12 textbooks, reference services. |
| Location | 2nd floor, East Wing. |
| Contact | 414 229-3924 |
| Website | http://www.uwm.edu/libraries/curriculum |
| Grind | |
| Provides | Coffee and snacks |
| Location | 1st floor, West Wing. |
| Contact | (414) 229-4146 |
| Head | Chad Boppel |
| Website | http://www.uwm.edu/dining/locations/golda-meir-library |
| Media and Reserve Services | |
| Provides | DVD/VHS, Equipment check-out, Microforms, and reserve materials |
| Location | Lower level, West Wing |
| Contact | Media and Reserve: 414-229-4673 |
| Head | Beth Traylor |
| Website | https://uwm.edu/libraries/media/ |
| Music Collection | |
| Provides | Reference services, books, music recordings, listening facilities. |
| Location | 2nd floor, East Wing. |
| Hours | |
| Contact | 414-229-5529 |
| Head | Vacant |
| Website | http://www.uwm.edu/libraries/music |
| Special Collections | |
| Provides | Rare and special printed materials that hold long-term, historical research potential for UWM academic programs. |
| Location | 4th floor, East Wing. |
| Hours | Monday-Friday: 10am-5pm, and by appointment. |
| Contact | 414-229-4345 |
| Head | Max Yela |
| Website | http://www.uwm.edu/libraries/special/ |
| User Services | |
| Provides | In-person and online reference, research consultations, bibliographic instruction, walk-in workshops, online tutorials, and school group instruction. |
| Location | Ask A Librarian in the Learning Commons; online: www.uwm.edu/Libraries/ask Specific staff: see phone list |
| Hours | |
| Contact | 414-229-4659 |
| Head | Kate Ganski |
| Website | https://uwm.edu/libraries/user-services/ |