User Services Intern and Fieldwork Training: Finding Resources
What am I Searching?
On the UWM Libraries homepage, there are several options for searching for articles:
1. Search @UW searches articles, books (including UW System books), media and digital collections
2. For more options, click on the Search & Find menu
3. Select a specific database to search (databases are often specialized by subject)
4. Select a database from a category like Business or History
Popular Newspapers Print and Web Edition links
-
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel 1990 to present via Newsbank Access World NewsSelect the "Newsbank Access World News Research Collection 2022 Edition (UW System SEC resource)" link to find coverage from 1990 to present
-
The New York Times (US Newsstream Daily News)Search the fulltext from 1980 to present or browse for headlines and stories from year, month, and day by using the menu at the bottom of the page.
-
New York Times (online)Search text only versions of blogs, website only articles, and podcasts published on nytimes.com
Getting Your Book
1. Use the same search strategy for books as you used for
finding articles.
2. Gather information to locate books.
You'll need three things to find books in the library:
Location - the collection that an item is part of ("Stacks" for books in the general collection of the library)
Call Number - the full number, which typically tells you where a book can be found in the library
Status - make sure the book is Item in Place
3. Retrieve your book(s) and take them to the circulation desk.
You'll need your UWM ID card to borrow books.