UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Researcher Orientation to UWM Libraries: Planning Research

Planning Research

Pivot-RP
Platform for researchers and administrators to identify new funding opportunities and potential collaborators, while offering insights and short-cuts to help research organizations obtain funding.
Identifies funding information related to research, collaborative activities, travel, curriculum development, conferences, fellowships, post-doctoral positions, equipment acquisition, and operating or capital expenses, among others. Sources of this information are federal and regional governments, foundations, professional societies, associations, and corporations. Funding Opportunities can be searched by sponsor, amount, deadline, eligibility of applicant, funding type, and area of interest.

Find Funding
resources by the Office of Sponsored Programs at UWM
Internal Grant Programs at UWM

Data Management 101
Data Management Plan Checklist
A checklist for making a Data Management Plan

Data Management
Resources and strategies for managing research data.

Citation Manager Comparison Chart
PDF illustrating the strengths and weaknesses of different Citation Management Tools (CMTs)

EndNote Web
EndNote Web is a freely available web-based citation management tool. It allows you to store up to 50,000 references and up to 2 GB of pdfs. it allows you to Collect references by searching online databases or importing your existing collection; Organize and group references in any way that works for you. Then share your groups with colleagues; and Use a plugin to format bibliographies and cite references while you write.
Mendeley
Mendeley is a citation management tool that allows you to Add papers directly from your browser with a few clicks or import any documents from your desktop. Access your library from anywhere. Windows, Mac, Linux and all browsers. It also allows you to Generate references, citations and bibliographies in a whole range of journal styles with just a few clicks.
Zotero
Zotero is an open source, freely available desktop and web-based citation management tool that allows you to manage citations, create bibliographies, and import references from databases. It can convert stored citations into formatted bibliographies. Formatting styles include APA, Chicago, and MLA (among others). To store your citations, you are required to register with the site. Creating an account is free.

Spaces in Golda Meir Library

Spaces

Request a Carrel
The Golda Meir Library has a limited number of study carrels that faculty, staff or graduate students engaged in research and writing that requires extended use of library resources may request for assignment.
The Scriptorium for Doctoral Students
The UWM Libraries and the Graduate School offer a quiet space reserved for UWM doctoral students in which to work.
Reserve a Study Room
Use LibCal to reserve a group study room in the Daniel M. Soref Learning Commons (at GML), UWM Washington County, or UWM Waukesha. Rooms may be reserved by current UWM student, faculty, or staff during all open hours.
Audio Recording Studio
Featuring up to four mic stations, a Tascam recorder and converter, and an 8-channel mixing board, the Audio Studio is ideal for professional, high-quality sound recordings. With sound-buffering panels, the Audio Studio provides an ideal environment for podcasts, oral history interviews, and other projects that require high-quality voice recording.
Media & Reserve Library
There are three reservable spaces in the Media & Reserve Services area: The Media Viewing Room, Recording Booth, and the Distraction Free Room. They are available to current UWM students, faculty and staff.

Featured Story

Researchers and Librarians Team Up to Celebrate The LGBTQ+ AV Archive Mining Project

The Sound Image History speaker series took place on August 24 and 25, 2021, to celebrate the conclusion of a year-long Collections-as-Data grant funded project aimed at building a text-based data set from the archival AV materials in the UWM Archives. The UWM Libraries house the largest collection of LGBTQ+ historical and contemporary materials in Wisconsin, providing a rich record of Milwaukee’s LGBTQ+ communities. This project will make the AV materials in those collections – a format that is traditionally underutilized – much more discoverable and usable, and open pathways to new research. The LGBTQ+ AV Archive Mining Project, and this speaker series, are made possible by a grant from the Mellon-funded Collections as Data: Part to Whole initiative.