UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Researcher Orientation to UWM Libraries: Literature Searching

Literature Searching

For Research
For Teaching

Search@UW
Search@UW provides an integrated search and discovery experience across a wide range of print and e-resources, including UW System and UW-Milwaukee print collections, digital images, institutional repositories, and huge collections of academic literature.

Databases by Subject
View a full list of the library's databases arranged by the subject area of coverage.
Circulation Policies
•Undergraduate Students
•Graduate Students
•Faculty/Staff
•Reciprocal Borrowing Information for Faculty/Staff
•Proxy Patrons
How to Request items
Quick description of how to request items using ILLiad.
Get Help Online or In Person
Chat - Email - Phone - Desk - FAQ
Evidence Synthesis Review Guide
Information and resources on conducting evidence synthesis reviews, including systematic and scoping Reviews.
Systematic Review Tutorial
Information resources on conducting systematic reviews in the Health Sciences.

Overview of the UWM Libraries Instruction Program
Course Integrated Instruction Form
Request a library workshop or inquire about an instructional collaboration with a librarian. Use this form to request secondary source and research skills oriented support.
Linking to licensed content on Canvas
More information and detailed instructions for linking to journal articles and eBooks from your Canvas site.
Open Educational Resources at UWM
The UWM Libraries and Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (CETL) invite instructors to participate in the Open Textbook/Open Educational Resource Adoption Project. This grant supports the adoption of open textbooks and open educational resources (OERs) in large enrollment credit-bearing courses, which includes several sections, possibly with multiple instructors.
Course Reserves Request Form
Course reserves are one of the best ways to ensure that students have access to course materials–particularly textbook-based readings. Reserve items are some of the most well-circulated library materials, and are a positive way for faculty, libraries, and students to engage with each other.
UWM Libraries Accessible Services and Resources
A detailed list of accessible services and resources at the UWM Libraries.
Purchase Recommendation Form
To make a purchase recommendation for a book, serial or streaming media, please fill out this form.

Requests will be forwarded to the library for consideration. Please note that it takes time to acquire and process the items you request. Please do not abbreviate publication details.

LibKey Nomad

What is LibKey Nomad?

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that makes off-campus searching easier. While searching, you can quickly see which articles are available to you through UWM Libraries. LibKey Nomad works on publisher websites, PubMed, and even Wikipedia to connect you to scholarly resources. If UWM does not have the full text, LibKey Nomad will link you to Search@UW where you can make an InterLibrary Loan request.

LibKey Nomad connects you to resources while preserving your privacy. No personal account is needed, and LibKey Nomad does not track users or store your ID after you close your browser. When you click on a LibKey Nomad link, it will take you to UWM's ePanther login and then straight on to the full-text article. After you login once, you won't have to login again until you close your browser.

Getting Started

Install the LibKey Nomad extension on your browser
Search for and select University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee from the list of institutions
- The LibKey Nomad icon will appear in the top right of your browser window
Start your search
- When you are on a page where you can download an article, the LibKey Nomad button will appear in the bottom left of your browser

Watch the video below to learn more and see how to install LibKey Nomad on your computer.

Still have questions?

Check out the LibKey Nomad Technical FAQ or contact UWM's LibKey administrator, Lynne Jones.

Featured Story

UWM Libraries Diversify Collections with Small Press Titles

UWM Libraries continue to make great strides in fulfilling an important goal of our Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) strategic plan by acquiring a number of books from independent publishers who focus on historically underrepresented communities.

The Libraries’ purchase plans with large publishers have always included books by and about traditionally marginalized voices and communities, but this recent effort by the Collection & Resource Management (CRM) department identified smaller presses with missions to amplify those voices.

They include:

Akashic Books, concentrating on historically underrepresented authors and subject matter.
BLF Press, devoted to BIPOC authors and subject matter.
Indolent Books, emphasizing LGBTQ+ authors and subject matter.
Kaya Press, publishers of Asian and Asian-American authors and subject matter.
Kegedonce Press, focused on Indigenous authors and subject matter.

Among the volumes acquired were A Gentle Habit by Cherie Dimaline (Kegedonce), On the Origin of Species and Other Stories by Bo-Young Kim (Kaya), Black from the Future: A Collection of Black Speculative Writing edited by Stephanie Andrea Allen and Lauren Cherelle (BLF), Was Body by Billie R. Tadros (Indolent), and Fair Play: How LGBT Athletes Are Claiming Their Rightful Place in Sports by Cyd Ziegler (Akashic).

“The books we added are definitely a positive addition to our collection,” says Chris Doll, Library Associate Director for CRM, “and we will continue to purchase from these publishers as we work to identify even more publishers from historically underrepresented communities.”

Titles from this initiative are available for browsing and check-out, and are located on the DEI bookshelf near the Library Grind in the Golda Meir Library.