UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Researcher Orientation to UWM Libraries: Active Research

Active Research at UWM Libraries

Services

Geospatial Data at the AGSL
If you need help obtaining data for visualization, analysis, or any kind of GIS project, we can help you find what you’re looking for. Additionally, we can help you locate the best tools for your project. Many of these tools are free or low-cost, and can have you making simple maps in a few minutes.
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Archives
The Archives Department has the two-fold mission of documenting the history of UWM and providing access to primary sources, largely from the metropolitan Milwaukee area, that have long-term research and instructional value for UWM academic programs. We serve as an Area Research Center for the Wisconsin Historical Society, providing access to primary sources from all around the state.
Data Services
UWM Libraries’ Data Services provides the following services:
-Data management plan consultations
-Data management training
-Data management consultations
Open Educational Resources at UWM
The UWM Libraries and Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (CETL) invite instructors to participate in the Open Textbook/Open Educational Resource Adoption Project. This grant supports the adoption of open textbooks and open educational resources (OERs) in large enrollment credit-bearing courses, which includes several sections, possibly with multiple instructors.
Digital Humanities Services
The Digital Collections & Initiatives provides opportunities to share technical skills, gain access to appropriate equipment and software, and to discover interdisciplinary, collaborative opportunities for researchers at all levels of expertise and interest in the field, through workshops, speaker series, and informal get-togethers

Featured Story

Invictus, UWM Black Student Union’s Newspaper, Added to African American Online Collections

The UWM Libraries have digitized a large number of issues of Invictus, a publication launched by the Black Student Union in 1977. One of UWM’s longest-running student newspapers, Invictus gave voice to the University’s African American student body with news features, profiles, and poetry. The last issue was published in 1995.

The Libraries are currently adding more Invictus issues to the digital collection, as well as the only two issues of a predecessor publication, The Black Critic.

Invictus joins other UWM Libraries’ collections that document local African American history: two digital collections, March on Milwaukee Civil Rights History Project and UWM African American Alumni Oral History Project, and a number of Archives’ collections, including the Vel Phillips papers and UWM Department of Africology records.