Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Subscription Databases
Nexis Uni: Legal Resources (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
After following this link, click on the "Select a specific content type"
arrow and choose from:
* Cases (U.S. Supreme Court, other federal courts and state courts)
* Statutes and Legislation
* Law Reviews and Journals
* Administrative Materials
* Briefs, Pleadings, and Motions
* Administrative Codes and Regulations
* Legal News
WestlawNext Campus Research
Full-text access to law cases: federal and state, legal subject guides, law reviews, statutes and administrative materials, legislative materials and legal encyclopedias.
Legal research collection that features full-text searching of scholarly legal and criminal justice periodicals and related materials.
UWM Libraries Law Subject Guide
View the library research guide to access additional research tools.
Case Law History
Both Nexis Uni and Westlaw Campus can be used to trace the history of a particular case and to locate other cases citing that case.
Refer to the other two tabs in this box to view information on how to use each database for that purpose.
After searching for a case in WestLaw, the KeyCite section of the screen provides the following information:
Direct appellate history of the case
Negative citing references to the case
References to cases, articles, administrative materials, & other court documents on Westlaw that have cited the case.
: The UWM Libraries' subscription to Westlaw Campus does not include the "Monitor with KeyCite Alert" feature.
What do the flags mean?
KeyCite status flags indicate that history is available for the case and should be investigated.
Retrieving a Shepard's® report by citation can be done in a variety of ways.
- The most common method is to enter "shep:" in the search box, followed by your citation, then press ENTER or click the search button.
Type shep followed by a colon (:) in the Search box, followed by the document citation.
Example: shep: 410 us 73
- Another option is to enter the citation name in the search box, then click the Shepard's Signal™ indicator next to the document name.
Books in UWM Libraries Collections
Click on the link below to generate a list of books at the UWM Libraries with the following Library of Congress subject heading: