UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Nonprofit Research: Library Resources and Services: Articles & Journals

Key Nonprofit Periodicals

Nonprofit Journals
Newspapers/Newsletters

UWM Libraries provide access to a wide range of key nonprofit periodicals. Click on the publication name to view date coverage for online and/or print access.

UWM Libraries provides access to a wide range of key nonprofit periodicals. Click on the publication name to view date coverage for online and/or print access.

Chronicle of Philanthropy
Nonprofit Pro (formerly Fundraising Success)
Nonprofit Quarterly
(Print format only)
Nonprofit Times
Nonprofit World
Nonprofit World Funding Alert

Current Awareness Options

Most of the business databases provide an option to set up an RSS feed or email alerts for specific publications or for topic searches.

Here are instructions for the two major business databases:

A sample of recently published articles on the topic of nonprofit organizations and change in the Business Source Premier database.

A sample of recently published articles in Voluntas: International Journal of Voluntary and Nonprofit Organizations. Available in full-text from ABI/Inform Collection (ProQuest).

Article Databases

ProQuest One Business
Combines multiple ProQuest business information databases - including e.g. the ABI/INFORM Collection and J.P. Morgan Research - to a total of more than 130 million documents. Global coverage in business and economics includes full-text journals, dissertations, and working papers, as well as trade publications, market research reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist. Library Guide

Business Source Premier
Indexes academic journals, trade journals, and magazines covering all business disciplines, including several nonprofit periodicals.
Catalog of Nonprofit Literature
Indexes materials collected by the Foundation Center's libraries on philanthropy, foundations, and the nonprofit sector. [Note: Entries reference Foundation Center library locations. To determine if UWM Libraries has an item, use Search@UW.]
* UWM Libraries: Databases by Subject
  View lists of article databases in other subject areas, e.g.
  -- Criminal Justice
  -- Art

Additional Article Databases

Hover over the links below to read the description of each resource.

Local News:

Wisconsin Newspapers Digital Research Site

Other Article Databases:

Academic Search Complete
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Search@UW
Google Scholar

What If the Full-Text of the Article is Not Included in the Database?

► Look for the button.

► If the full text is not available in the database you're using, clicking Get It! may link directly to:

• the full article in other library databases or journal subscriptions
• or to a call number for a print copy.

► If the article is not available via the UWM Libraries, request it using the library's Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.

• Get It! may provide an option to "Request a Copy"
• if not, fill out the Interlibrary Loan form manually.