Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film & Television: Scholarship & Additional Resources

Archives & Digital Libraries/Museums

Archive of American Television: A division of the non-profit Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation that films interviews with notable people from all aspects of the television industry.

Encyclopedia of Television: "With more than 1,000 original essays, the Encyclopedia of Television examines specific programs and people, historic moments and trends, major policy disputes, and topics such as networks, programs, trends, and much more."

Media History Digital Library: A non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access.

Wisconsin Center for Film & Theater Research: One of the world's major archives of research materials relating to the entertainment industry; maintains over 300 collections from outstanding playrights, television and motion picture writers, producers, actors, designers, directors, and production companies

Museum of the Moving Image: "Museum of the Moving Image advances the public understanding and appreciation of the art, history, technique, and technology of film, television, and digital media."

American Memory Project: Published by the Library of Congress, this internet-based archive is home to public domain image resources, as well as audio, video, and archived Web content.

Associations

     
 

Association of Public Television Stations (APTS)
"A nonprofit membership organization established in 1979; APTS represents the overwhelming majority of the 171 public television licensees nationwide."

National Association of Broadcasters (NAB)
"A trade association, workers union, and lobby group representing the interests of for-profit, over-the-air radio and television broadcasters in the United States."


National Cable and Telecommunications Association (NCTA)
"The principal trade association for the US cable television industry."

Ratings & Reviews

Nielsen Media Research: an American firm that measures media audiences (TV, radio, theater, films, & newspapers); best known for the Nielsen ratings, an audience measurement system for television viewership

TV by the Numbers: A website devoted to collecting and analyzing television ratings data in the United States

Miscellaneous Links

The New York Times Television

TVGuide.com

TV.com a website owned by CBS Interactive. The site covers television and focuses on English-language shows made or broadcast in Canada, Australia, Canada, Ireland, Japan, New Zealand, the United States, and the United Kingdom

The Futon Critic: a website that publishes articles pertaining to primetime programming on broadcast and cable networks

Huffington Post Television

Antenna: "Antenna is a collectively authored media and cultural studies blog committed to timely yet careful analysis of texts, news, and events from across the popular culture spectrum. The site regularly responds to new works and developments in television, film, music, gaming, digital video, the Internet, print, and the media industries."