Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film & Television: Scholarship & Additional Resources

Ratings & Reviews

Box Office Mojo: Box office database; tracks box office revenue; widely used within the film industry as a source of data

New York Times Film Reviews

Rotten Tomatoes: Discover the critical reaction to motion pictures via Rotten Tomatoes' unique scale: "the Tomatometer rating--based on the published opinions of hundreds of film and television critics--is a trusted measurement of movie and TV programming quality for millions of moviegoers. It represents the percentage of professional critic reviews that are positive for a given film."

 

Archives & Digital Libraries/Museums

Wisconsin Center for Film & Theater Research: One of the world's major archives of research materials relating to the entertainment industry; maintains over 300 collections from outstanding playrights, television and motion picture writers, producers, actors, designers, directors, and production companies

Media History Digital Library: A non-profit initiative dedicated to digitzing collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access; online access to the histories of cinema, broadcasting, and sound.

Museum of the Moving Image: "Museum of the Moving Image advances the public understanding and appreciation of the art, history, technique, and technology of film, television, and digital media."

Miscellaneous Links

Internet Movie Database (IMDB): an online database of information related to films, television programs, and video games, including cast, production crew, fictional characters, biographies, plot summaries, trivia, and reviews.

Film Studies For Free Blog: A web-archive of examples of, links to, and comments on online, Open Access film and moving image studies resources of note. Maintained by a film studies professor at the University of Sussex.

Moving Image Genre List: All the types of subject access to moving image works, genre studies has emerged as the most frequently used and theoretically developed system.

AllMovie.com: Provides comprehensive movie info including reviews, ratings, and biographies.

American Film Institute - Catalog of Feature Films: The most authoritative filmographic database ont he web; includes entries on nearly 60,000 American feature-length films and 17,000 short films produced from 1893-2011