This is the "E-books at UWM" page of the "e-Books@UWM" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

e-Books@UWM   Tags: e-books, media studies  

A guide to finding and using e-Books from the UWM Libraries collections.
Last Updated: Mar 4, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.uwm.edu/ebooks Print Guide RSS Updates

E-books at UWM Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Bringing E-Books to UWM

You will find a large collection of e-books when you search PantherCat. A portion of our e-books are purchased based on the books you select and check-out. 

The UWM Libraries offers thousands of e-books across all disciplines. This guide offers information regarding different e-book formats, various collections at UWM, and how to download e-books.

    E-books @ UWM

    • ACLS  
        
      E-books covering cultural studies, religion, archeology, art, music, literature, philosophy and political science
    • Black Drama  
        
      Over 1200 plays by 201 African American playwrights
      Resources are not linked from PantherCat
    • e-Book Collection (Ebsco)  
        
      Search and read titles online. Create an account to check out books and download to e-readers via Adobe Digital Editions.
    • Gale Virtual Reference  
        
      Over 275 reference sources in business, literature and general reference
    • Knovel Scientific and Engineering  
        
      Over 600 handbooks, dictionaries and proceedings in technical disciplines
    • Materials NetBASE  
        
      Search and read titles online.
    • MD Consult  
        
      Over 50 medical textbooks, articles from more than 70 clinical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, 5,000 patient education handouts
      Resources are not linked from PantherCat
    • Mosby Nursing Consult  
        
      Contains drug information, patient handouts, full text of some nursing and medical journals (back to 2001), health reference books, nursing news, evidence-based content, clinical updates and more
      Resources are not linked from PantherCat
    • Safari Online Books  
        
      Collection of about 6,000 technical reference sources from many of the leading technology publishers

    Finding E-books at UWM

    How to Find E-books in PantherCat

    1. To begin, go to the library's homepage at: http://www4.uwm.edu/libraries/

    2. Click on the link to the library catalog

    library homepage

    3. Once in PantherCat, click on the Advanced search tab

    4. Enter keywords into the search box and then choose e-book collection from the dropdown menu for location

    Here's a short video on how to find e-books in PantherCat

    • PantherCat
      E-books can be found in PantherCat by using the advanced searching and changing the location to "E-book Collection"

    How to Find E-books from the Library Homepage

    Resources: Find it Fast


    1. Go to http://www4.uwm.edu/libraries/find/

    scroll down to E-books and search

    OR


    1. From the library homepage, click on the Books & Media tab

    2. Click on More Options

    3. Scroll down to E-books and search directly from the Resources: Find it Fast 


    Here's a short video on how to search for e-books from out Resources: Find it Fast webpage

    • Books & Media Tab
      A short video on how to find e-books from the library's "Resources: Find it Fast" page, which is under the Books & Media tab.
    Survey
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip