After this module, students will:
Be able to locate and access musical material at the library, including scores and parts, reference materials, CDs and LPs, and streaming music, as well as books and articles.
Be able to access Library services as well as content, including research consultations, interlibrary loan, and chat reference.
For your library tutorial and orientation this week, please go through the lesson materials on this guide, including the text, videos, and activities for all the tabs. Links to additional information will be provided throughout, but those are optional. Don't hesitate to contact me at schmidag@uwm.edu with any questions!
The UWM Libraries offer access to scores, including parts for chamber ensembles, physical and streaming recordings, and research databases that are valuable resources for personal listening and performance, as well as scholarly research. If you're looking for new repertory or something to listen to and don't already have a title in mind, the library can help.
Here's an example: Although 2020 was "Beethoven Year," many scholars and musicians took the opportunity to listen to and perform music that is not so well-known. "Musicology Duck," an anonymous music scholar on social media, posted a list of prompts at the end of 2019, urging us to "Listen Wider" by working through "challenges" to listen to music you might not otherwise hear. But how do you find and listen to new music that meets particular criteria, either for a "challenge," for a particular performance context, or for an assignment?
To orient you to some of the music resources and services, this tutorial will lead you through a few of the Listen Wider challenges, using library resources. For each challenge, you'll see a tab on this guide with a brief explanation of resources, a couple of short demonstration videos, and an activity to try out the tools. Please make sure to go through each of the tabs, and work through those materials for each challenge. At the bottom of each page, I'll also give a link to a playlist, bibliography, and additional similar resources for you to explore if you're interested.
UWM Libraries now has access to Mango Languages!
Mango Languages is an online language learning platform that offers courses in over 75 languages, including English as a second language. Mango provides an easy-to-use mobile app for IOS and Android, making language learning accessible 24-7.
Use this direct link to Mango, pick a language, and start learning! A link to Mango is also available on the UWM Libraries website via the A-Z Databases list.
UWM Libraries now has access to Visible Body Suite. Visible Body Suite is an interactive 3D anatomy tool that includes a human anatomy atlas, comprehensive references for biological concepts and processes, and detailed animations. Visible Body Suite includes access to five different apps: Human Anatomy Atlas, Visible Biology, Anatomy & Physiology, Muscle Premium, and Physiology Animations.
PLEASE NOTE: a personal account is required to use this resource. If you already have a Visible Body Courseware account, please use a different email address to create a Web Suite account.
UWM Libraries subscribe to a number of music streaming databases that are constantly adding new content. There have been lots of recent additions to Music Online: Jazz Music Library, which has hundreds of thousands of jazz tracks available for instant access!
Last year, the UWM Music Librarian worked through all 30 Listen Wider challenges, with playlists, bibliographies, and search tips. Check out the results with the Guide below, or via the music collection social media accounts.
