UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Multicultural Studies: LGBT+ Studies

LGBT+ Studies

Recommended Texts

Recommended Texts

Queer Theory by Annamarie Jagose
ISBN: 0814742343
Publication Date: 1997-02-20
Imagining Transgender by David Valentine
ISBN: 0822338696
Publication Date: 2007-08-30
The History of Sexuality by Michel Foucault
ISBN: 0679724699
Publication Date: 1990-04-14
Gender Outlaws by Kate Bornstein; S. Bear Bergman
ISBN: 1580053084
Publication Date: 2010-08-31
The Invention of Heterosexuality by Jonathan Ned Katz; Lisa Duggan (Afterword by, Preface by)
ISBN: 0226426017
Publication Date: 2007-06-15

Resources in LGBT+ Studies

GenderWatch
GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
Sociological Abstracts
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Women's Studies International
Women's Studies International is a composite of ten contributing databases covering women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused scholarship from throughout the world. Corresponds to Women's Studies Abstracts (1984-); New Books on Women & Feminism (1987-); Women of Color and Southern Women 1975-1988, and annual supplements (1989-); WAVE: Women's Audiovisuals in English: A Guide to Nonprint Resources in Women's Studies, and other databases and print publications. It indexes journal articles, books, book reviews, and audiovisual materials relating to women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused scholarship.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete is an index of articles in communication and mass media, communication sciences and disorders. It does include some full text.
PsycINFO (APA)
PsycINFO is the core database for searching academic, research, and practice literature in psychology. Search the database for citations and summaries of psychology literature published in journals, books and dissertations. Also search here for psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. It includes over one million citations and summaries. 98% of the materials included here are peer reviewed.

Act Up Videos
LGBT Materials in the NYPL
Includes records, artifacts, images, ephemera, documents and more from ACT UP New York, Mattachine Society, Inc. of New York, Gay Activist Alliance, International Gay Information Center Collection, among other resources.
ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives
The largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world, housing over 2 million items.
Lesbian Herstory Archives
The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities.
Milwaukee Gay/Lesbian Cable Network Records
Title: Milwaukee Gay/Lesbian Cable Network Records
Creator: Milwaukee Gay/Lesbian Cable Network
Call Number: UWM Mss 206
Abstract: Collection consists of regular and special programming on local LGBT issues, dating from 1987 to 1994.

Sexualities
Covers a vast array of interdisciplinary topics including the stratification of sexualities by class, race, gender and age and Queer theory and lesbian and gay studies. Its broad scope combines sexualized identities, globalization, pornography and mass media communication. Fully peer reviewed it is methodologically inclusive and genuinely international.
Gender Forum
gender forum is an online, peer reviewed academic journal dedicated to the discussion of gender issues. As an electronic journal, gender forum offers a free-of-charge platform for the discussion of gender-related topics in the fields of literary and cultural production, media and the arts as well as politics, the natural sciences, medicine, the law, religion and philosophy. Inaugurated by Prof. Dr. Beate Neumeier in 2002, the quarterly issues of the journal have focused on a multitude of questions from different theoretical perspectives of feminist criticism, queer theory, and masculinity studies. gender forum also includes reviews and occasionally interviews, fictional pieces and poetry with a gender studies angle.
Gay and Lesbian Issues and Psychology
The Gay and Lesbian Issues and Psychology Interest Group produces an academic, peer-reviewed journal entitled the 'Gay and Lesbian Issues and Psychology Review' (GLIP Review). The journal provides a much needed forum for publishing on issues relevant to LGBTI communities in Australia and abroad, and aims to bring together the perspectives of practitioners, researchers and activists.
Journal of Bisexuality
Transgender Studies Quarterly

Diverse and Resilient
Diverse and Resilient, Inc. is a nonprofit organization whose mission is the healthy development of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people in Wisconsin through the development of groups and communities to take action.
GLAAD: Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation
GLAAD is dedicated to promoting and ensuring fair, accurate and inclusive representation of people and events in the media as a means of eliminating homophobia and discrimination based on gender identity and sexual orientation.
International Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission
"...leading international organization dedicated to human rights advocacy on behalf of people who experience discrimination or abuse on the basis of their actual or perceived sexual orientation, gender identity or expression."
National Center for Transgender Equality
Provides a multitude of resources to educate surrounding issues faced by Transgender individuals in the United States today. NCTE compiles Annual Reports, which outline yearly achievements in policy, advocacy, and social change.
PFLAG: Parents, Families & Friends of Lesbians and Gays
PFLAG promotes the health and well-being of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender persons, their families and friends through: support, education and advocacy.
Queer Zine Archive Project
The Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP), located in Milwaukee, WI is a collective whose primary function is to provide a free on-line searchable database of digitized LGBTQIA+ zines. Extensive collection of zines relevant to Women's and Gender Studies.

Multicultural Studies

UWM LGBT+ Links

Subject Guide

LGBT+ Studies

Recommended Texts

Resources in LGBT+ Studies