Japanese

This book aims to teach Japanese characters step by step, whilst also simultaneously highlighting vocabulary needed by beginners. Each word comes with an illustration to facilitate the reader's visual learning. The book also contains information on how to write a sentence by using the characters and vocabulary presented to the reader and contains exercises that teachers can use as homework.

600 Basic Japanese Verbs is a handy, easy-to-use guide to one of the building blocks of Japanese grammar-verbs.This book will be an essential resource for students wishing to learn Japanese as it shows how to conjugate the 600 most common Japanese verbs quickly, and with very little effort. This is the only guide to list all verb forms in both Japanese script and romanized form.Compiled by Japanese language experts at The Hiro Japanese Center, more than 30 different verbal forms are given for each verb including all forms used in contemporary spoken, written, formal and conversational Japanese.

his calendar-like desk companion is divided into monthly topics and builds upon itself, one day at a time. Japanese phrases are kept short, simple and functional. Each of the 332 pages includes these four components: The phrase or dialogue in Japanese characters. A transliteration using English letters (romanji), which gives English speakers a guide to pronunciation. The English translation. A related note about the phrase, Japan, or Japanese culture to add context.

This classic, best-selling learning and reference work, trusted by beginning and intermediate students learning Japanese since 1959, is now being offered as a fourth edition and is thoroughly revised and up-to-date. Having a knowledge of the full set of General Use characters, which this guide includes, will allow reading of any Japanese newspaper with ease and confidence.Key features on this revised edition include: The most recent changes prescribed by the Japanese Ministry of Education. Covers all the 2,136 characters in the 'General Use' / Joyo Kanji set. Detailing coverage of the 1,009 'Essential' Japanese characters arranged by grade for children in the first six years of grade school. The Kanji characters based more on their frequency in everyday language than the complexity of their composition.

This book consists of sixteen chapters covering the phonology, morphology, writing system, tense and aspect systems, basic argument structure, grammatical constructions, and discourse and pragmatic phenomena of Japanese. It provides researchers with a useful typological reference and students of Japanese with a theory-neutral introduction to current linguistic research issues.

A Modern History of Japan: From Tokugawa Times to the Present, Fourth Edition, paints a richly nuanced and strikingly original portrait of the last two centuries of Japanese history. It takes students from the days of the shogunate - the feudal overlordship of the Tokugawa family - through the modernizing revolution launched by midlevel samurai in the late nineteenth century; the adoption of Western hairstyles, clothing, and military organization; and the nation's first experiments with mass democracy after World War I. Author Andrew Gordon offers the finest synthesis to date of Japan's passage through militarism, World War II, the American occupation, and the subsequent economic rollercoaster.

Introducing Japanese Popular Culture is a comprehensive textbook offering an up-to-date overview of a wide variety of media forms. It uses particular case studies as a way into examining the broader themes in Japanese culture and provides a thorough analysis of the historical and contemporary trends that have shaped artistic production, as well as, politics, society, and economics in Japan. As a result, more than being a time capsule of influential trends, this book teaches enduring lessons about how popular culture reflects the societies that produce and consume it. With contributions from an international team of scholars, representing a range of disciplines from history and anthropology to art history and media studies, the book's sections include: Television, Videogames, Music, Popular Cinema, Anime, Manga, Popular Literature, Fashion, Contemporary Art. Written in an accessible style by a stellar line-up of international contributors, this textbook will be essential reading for students of Japanese culture and society, Asian media and popular culture and Asian Studies in general.

With a history stretching back nearly 1,500 years, written works originating from Japan encompass a vast range of forms and genres. Since the eighth century, poetry and the non-philosophical lyric voice have occupied a central position in Japanese cultural life. A succinct introduction to one of the most dynamic and diverse world literatures, this Very Short Introduction traces the rich history of Japanese literature from its beginnings over a millennium ago to the present day.

The Oxford Handbook of Japanese Philosophy is a foundation-laying reference work that covers, in detail and depth, the entire span of this philosophical tradition, from ancient times to the present. It introduces and examines the most important topics, figures, schools, and texts from the history of philosophical thinking in premodern and modern Japan.

The Routledge Handbook of Modern Japanese Literature provides a comprehensive overview of how we study Japanese literature today. The chapters survey the state of the field through a number of pressing issues and themes, examining the ways in which it is possible to read modern Japanese literature and situate it in relation to critical theory. The Handbook examines various modes of literary production (such as fiction, poetry, and critical essays) as distinct forms of expression that nonetheless are closely interrelated. The book provides an overview of major authors and genres by situating them within broader themes that have defined the way writers have produced literature in modern Japan, as well as how those works have been read and understood by different readers in different time periods.