Japanese

Containing Japanese-English and English-Japanese sections, it is an essential reference tool for serious students studying the Japanese language. Special features include: Lists over 5,000 carefully selected characters with their 10,000+ current readings and almost 70,000 compounds in current use, al with concise English definitions. Arranged by a logical extension of the traditional radical system so as to make the finding of a given character easy. Makes provision for quickly finding characters either in their traditional or their modern and often greatly altered forms. Includes 14 valuable appendices giving (1) instructions for the most efficient use of the dictionary, (2) discussions of the written language in general and particularly of its recent and far-reaching official modifications, and (3) much helpful information that readers in East Asian fields have heretofore had to search for in many different places. Contains anon-kun index which makes it not only a reader's dictionary but also a writer's dictionary.

This dictionary contains the following features: 25,000 Japanese words and expressions Up-to-date local Japanese slang and idioms A guide to Japanese pronunciation and Japanese Grammar Romanized forms (romanji) and authentic Japanese characters (kanji) and script (kana) Extensive notes with detailed tips on usage and social context Parts of speech, common phrases and idiomatic expressions

Long the foremost Japanese-English character dictionary, adopted by Japanese-study programs around the world and used at all levels of Japanese language study. The Universal Radical Index, an significant advance on the traditional character indices, has been created as a handy appendix that enables users to search for any main-entry character's reference number in Morohashi's Dai Kanwa Jiten. Over 1,200 characters have been added and more than 2,000 new on-kun entries included. Definitions have been modernized to reflect current usage and translation. This revised edition is updated with additional characters, contemporary definitions, and an innovative radical index system and sets new standards of excellence, easy-of-use, and reliability for Japanese language reference tools. This edition keeps pace with the evolution of the Japanese language and remains an indispensable tool for students and scholars of Japanese

Classical Japanese: A Grammar is a comprehensive, and practical guide to classical Japanese. Extensive notes and historical explanations make this volume useful as both a reference for advanced students and a textbook for beginning students. The volume, which explains how classical Japanese is related to modern Japanese, includes detailed explanations of basic grammar, including helpful, easy-to-use tables of grammatical forms; annotated excerpts from classical premodern texts.