Japanese

The National Diet Library is the only national library in Japan. Established in 1948, it is similar in purpose and scope to the U.S. Library of Congress.

Web Japan provides information about Japan including facts, fun and new trends, traditional and pop culture, science and technology, food, travel, and life style by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan.

“Hirogaru, get more of Japan and Japanese” is a site for learning different things about Japan and the Japanese language through your own interests presented by the Japan Foundation Japanese-Language Institute, Kansai.

ColBase is a database of collections of the four national museums: Tokyo, Kyoto, Nara, and Kyushu.

Fukuoka Asian Art Museum is the only museum in the world that systematically collects and exhibits Asian modern and contemporary art. The works in the collection of the museum are not imitations of Western art or repetitions of traditional works. Instead, they seek to overcome the existing framework of art, being made by artists living in ‘contemporary’ Asia. These artists attempt to acutely express their messages in and about this changing world of Asia. FAAM's exhibitions of Asian modern and contemporary art are rich in depth and quality, and wide in scope. They present the originality and charm of Asian art in a way that cannot be experienced in any other museum in the world.

The aim of this site is to give Japanese learners and anime/manga fans from all over the world an opportunity to learn Japanese in an enjoyable way, using the anime/manga they enjoy as a gateway to their studies. We hope to deepen learners' understanding of the Japanese language and culture, and to give an added incentive to study.

JACAR has built and operates an online database for releasing Asian historical records, that are historical documents of Japan concerning to the modern Japanese relations with other countries, particularly those in Asia. The documents of the archive are provided by the National Archives of Japan, the Diplomatic Archives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan, and the National Institute for Defense Studies of the Ministry of Defense of Japan.

Includes more than 28,000 images from the holdings of the American Geographical Society Library, focusing on the countries of Asia and the Middle East. The images come from the collections acquired over many decades by including an extensive photographic print collection. The digital collection is under continuing development.

NIJL is a comprehensive research institute and functions as a foundation for the broader promotion
of advanced collaborative research into Japanese literature. Building upon the achievements of nearly five decades of
accumulated research into premodern Japanese literature, NIJL works in cooperation with other research institutes
and researchers—both in Japan and overseas—to harness the rich intellectual resources of premodern Japanese texts,
thereby pursuing the development of innovative research that cuts across traditional disciplinary

National Film Archive of Japan (NFAJ) started out in 1952 as the film library section of the National Museum of Modern Art (later The National Museum of Modern Art, Tokyo: MOMAT). NFAJ, the only national institution of films in Japan, is promoting motion picture culture through collection, preservation, restoration, research, screenings and exhibitions of domestic and overseas films and related materials.

A guide to mostly free online resources and software that facilitates Japanese research and study.

In Tokyo, there are so many different fashion styles, cultures, and subcultures that it’s hard for even the most devoted fashion freak to keep up. Each season those styles change, subcultures come and go, brands are born and die. If you aren’t located in Japan, how can you possibly stay on top of what’s going on? We have a simple answer to that question… Fashion photos from the streets of Tokyo – lots of them.