UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: HIST 294 Seminar on Historical Method: Research Techniques: Primary Sources

UWM Archives

ASKARCH@UWM.EDU

Milwaukee Campus Library 3rd floor, West wing

Help with:

Primary Research Support and Primary Source Literacy instruction
History reference materials and vital statistics for Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Sheboygan, Washington, and Waukesha Counties
University records and local manuscript collections
WTMJ Footage
Inter-archives loan requests

General Reference: AGSL@UWM.EDU

Milwaukee Campus Library 3rd floor, East wing

Help With:

LIBSPECIAL@UWM.EDU

Milwaukee Campus Library 4th Floor

Help With:

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. Includes UW Milwaukee and UW Madison digital collections.
World Digital Library
Launched in 2009, the World Digital Library (WDL) was a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, with the support of UNESCO, and contributions from libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations around the world.
Alexander Street History Collections
Search primary sources and documentary films (secondary sources) related to topics in US and Europe from the following collections: American History in Video; British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries; Early Encounters in North America; North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories; North American Women's Letters and Diaries; The Gilded Age; The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960–1974; Women and Social Movements: Development and the Global South, 1919 - 2019, and Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000.
Gale Primary Sources
Search across Gale primary source collections, including newspapers, archives, and more.

JSTOR Primary Source Collections
Go beyond the usual sources. Discover new avenues of research and gain deeper understanding of your topics with original materials including artworks, photographs, publications, recordings, and other artifacts. Explore important and rare collections from libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world.