Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Greetings! This guide provides an introduction to chemical information resources at UWM. For further assistance please contact Svetlana Korolev.
For general questions contact the Ask a Librarian.
For additional services check User Services.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a basic reference source for chemical and physical data. Material is updated and revised and new material included in each annual. Sections include basic constants, units conversion factors and mathematical tables, chemical and physics terminology, organic and inorganic compounds, biochemistry, analytical chemistry, properties of atoms, particles, solids, fluids, polymers, and sections on geophysics, astronomy, and laboratory safety. PLEASE NOTE: The UWM Libraries has 2 simultaneous users for this service. If you can not access the service please try again later.
Note: registration is required before use and is only available for faculty, staff and students of UWM. See "SciFinder on the Web" tab to set up your access account.
SciFinder is research tool for accessing information in Chemical Abstracts databases. It covers all areas of chemistry and related scientific disciplines and indexes of more than 9,000 journals, including cover-to-cover of 1,500 key chemical journals (1994-), patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, books, and dissertations. Literature from 1907 to the present plus selected pre-1907 content
Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. Reaxys incorporates Beilstein and Gmelin data plus organic and organometallic patents from 1976 to the present.
Web of Science
Web of Science includes three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It indexes over 12,000 journals and 120,000 conference proceedings with the strongest coverage in the sciences (over 8,500 journals), followed by social sciences (over 3,000 journals), and arts and humanities (over 1,700 fully indexed journals). Our Web of Science subscription includes articles published from 1987 to the present; updated weekly. For impact factor information about specific journals use Journal Citation Reports.