UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Chemistry: Databases

Full-text journal platforms

ACS Publications
Provides indexing and full text to American Chemical Society journals. Why can't I access some of this content?
RSC Publishing
RSC Publishing provides indexing and full text to Royal Society of Chemistry journals, ebooks and databases. Current subscribed coverage includes all online journal, database and magazine content as well as access to the book series, Issues in Environmental Science & Technology. Why can't I access some of this content?
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a platform that indexes thousands of peer-reviewed journals and book series from Elsevier in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life and health sciences, social sciences and humanities. Why can't I access some of this content?
SPIE Digital Library
Collection of optics and photonics applied research from SPIE, including journals, conference proceedings papers, and videos. Why can't I access some of this content?
SpringerLink
The SpringerLink platform provides researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works. Why can't I access some of this content?
This search tool contains content that isn't included in UWM Subscriptions. You may need to request content from Interlibrary Loan.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It provides integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. Why can't I access some of this content?

Free Databases

Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index (CASSI)
To look up or confirm titles and abbreviations of publications indexed by Chemical Abstracts Service since 1907
ChemIndex
Canada's National Occupational Health and Safety Resource.
Chemical Safety Library
user-submitted content collects information about real or potential laboratory safety incidents.
more...less...
by Pistoia Alliance and CAS

ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 34 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

CAS Common Chemistry
Provides information on nearly 500,000 substances from CAS REGISTRY chemicals of widespread general public interest
more...less...
the number of substances was expanded on 3/17/21
https://www.cas.org/resources/press-releases/common-chemistry
Crystallography Open Database
Open-access collection of crystal structures of organic, inorganic, metal-organic compounds and minerals
eMolecules
A search engine to help faciliate the drug discovery process, eMolecules has curated data for 650,000 in-stock and verified building blocks from its supplier network
IUPAC-NIST Solubility Data
An exhaustive compilation and critical evaluation of all the worlds published results of experimental determinations of solubility
Landolt-Börnstein Substance / Property Index
Information about substances and related properties
Materials Safety Data Sheets
Compilation of sites where one can find materials safety data sheets on the internet
MatWeb: Material Property Data
Searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers, metals, superalloys, semiconductors, fibers
NIST Chemistry Webbook
Chemical and physical property data maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors
Organic Compounds database
Identifies compounds based on their properties
Organic Syntheses
Provides the chemistry community with annual collections of detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds

PubChem
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. Links from PubChem's chemical structure records to other Entrez databases provide information on biological properties. These include links to PubMed scientific literature and NCBI's protein 3D structure resource. Links to PubChem's bioassay database present the results of biological screening. Links to depositor web sites provide further information. A PubChem FTP site is also available.

Sigma-Aldrich Catalog
Features over 40,000 chemical products with useful property information
Spectral Data Base for Organic Compounds
Contains six types of spectra: Electron Impact Mass, Fourier Transform Infrared, 1H and 13C NMR, Raman, and ESR, for about 34,000 compounds
ThermoDex
An index of selected thermodynamic and physical property resources

Citation Linker

Journal Search to check if a journal is available through the UWM Libraries, either via our direct subscriptions to journals or databases.

Journal Citation Reports

Journal Citation Reports
The Journal Citation Reports is an essential resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, and incorporates journals from over 3,000 publishers in 60 nations. Both the Science and the Social Sciences editions are available; there is no citation report for the arts and the humanities.

Research Tools

EndNote
EndNote on the web is a complimentary reference management tool to our subscription to Web of Science. To create and use EndNote use "My Tools" tab at the Web of Science site.