Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Royal Society of Chemistry Publishing
The UWM Library subscribes to the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) "Gold" package including 45 journals, 5 literature updating services (Analytical Abstracts, Chemistry Hazards in Industry, Laboratory Hazards Bulletin, Natural Product Updates, Synthetic Reaction Updates), Annual Reports on the Progress of Chemistry (Section A: Inorganic Chemistry, Section B: Organic Chemistry, Section C: Physical Chemistry), magazine (Education in Chemistry), and book series Issues in Environmental Science and Technology. We also subscribe to the RSC Journals Archive 1941-2007.
RSC publishes five full open access journals:
- Chemical Science (launched in 2010) moved to open access from issue 1, 2015.
- Materials Advances (launched in 2020) with article processing charges waived until mid-2022.
- Nanoscale Advances (launched in 2018) with article processing charges waived until mid-2021.
- RSC Advances (launched in 2011) moved to open access from issue 1, 2017.
- RSC Chemical Biology (forthcoming in 2020) with article processing charges waived until mid-2022.
Chemistry Education Research and Practice is free to access sponsored by RSC's Education Division.
Current Awareness Services
Weekly updates focusing on novel techniques and quantitative measurement in analytical chemistry from over 100 journals; provides specialist indexing search via analyte, matrix and technique; from 1980 to the present.
Natural Product Updates
Monthly updates from around 50 journals covering such topics as isolation studies, new compounds and known compounds from new sources, structural determinations, new properties and activities, and total syntheses; searching can be performed on the subject indexes (source, taxonomic names, biological activity, trivial names and compound class) or bibliographic data; from 1998 onwards.
Synthetic Reaction Updates
Monthly updates with recent developments in synthetic organic chemistry from 27 core journals, presented as easily readable reaction schemes, and searchable by topic and reaction type. Users can set up personalized searches for alerts via email. Synthetic Reaction Updates replaced Methods in Organic Synthesis and Catalysts & Catalysed Reactions in 2015.
Chemical Hazards in Industry
Monthly issue contains updates from about 200 primary sources focusing on health and safety chemical and biological hazards, legislation, protective equipment and storage; from 1981 to the present.
Laboratory Hazards Bulletin
Monthly updates from over 70 key scientific and trade journals covering chemical and biological hazards, explosions, leaks, spills, hazardous waste management, safety legislation, protective equipment, precautions and safe practices; from 1981 to the present.
The Merck Index
The Merck Index
In the Merck Index online version you are able to perform searches and obtain result sets, search or browse over 500 organic named reactions, but UWM does not have access to the full monographs.
The latest 2013 print edition is located in the UWM Library Reference RS51 .M4. The earlier editions are available for checking out from the library stacks.
A chemical structure database providing text and structure search access to over 32 million structures, properties and associated information from ~ 500 data sources.
ChemSpider Synthetic Pages
A database of over 500 practical procedures for researchers in synthetic chemistry, written by chemists including author's comments on repeatability, scalability, handling tips, supplementary information, and lead reference.