Articles - WAK INT 284 - Honors Seminar - UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides at University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Selected Databases

Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.
Environment Complete Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. The database contains citations for articles from domestic and international journals, monographs and conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.
ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center (EBSCO) ERIC is the source for information on all aspects of education for all age groups, including counseling, tests, and measurement. ERIC indexes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, standards and guidelines.
Gale Academic OneFile Gale Academic OneFile indexes and provides selected full text for thousands of scholarly journals and other authoritative sources across many academic disciplines. Subjects covered include the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, and literature.
Web of Science Web of Science includes citations from the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, BIOSIS Citation Index, Zoological Record, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, and the Derwent Innovation Index. Our Web of Science subscription includes articles published from 1987 to the present; updated weekly. Useful For: systematic reviews, Highly Cited papers, citation metrics

Using Databases

Help using education databases - advanced search - creating a lesson plan

ERIC - Getting the most out of a scholarly subject-based (education) database like ERIC means using an advanced search.

Type in your subject/topic and consider adding one of the following narrowing search terms:

lesson plans
curriculum guides
planning
units of study
instructional materials
study guides

To narrow further by education level, scroll down to the bottom of the Advanced Search screen and limit your search results with the following limiters:

Education Level: Adult Education (use Ctrl button and also select Grade 10 or Grade 11)
Optional: just below Education Level you will find "Intended Audience" - you could add Teacher or, possibly, Student to narrow your search even further

Here are two other education-focused article databases that may have articles and lesson plans on your topics.

Teaching Reference Center - articles from professional/trade publications and selected academic journals geared toward teachers and teaching administrators.

Education Research Complete - full-text database on topics related to all levels of education. Includes area of curriculum instruction.

ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center (EBSCO)
ERIC is the source for information on all aspects of education for all age groups, including counseling, tests, and measurement. ERIC indexes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, standards and guidelines.

Advanced Search Limiters in ERIC