Skip to Main Content
UWM Libraries Homepage

Systematic Review Tutorial

Where to Search?

  1. Choose databases that will contain articles about the knowledge claim or research question you are investigating
  2. Databases are developed around topical areas
  3. If you need help figuring out databases to search, set up a research consultation

Places to Search

Contents & Features Examples
Databases

Databases are subject-oriented collections of indexed journals, images, guidelines, and other references to materials and/or full-text.
key features:

  • complex search interfaces
  • detailed subject headings
  • detailed field-tagged searching

Databases are accessed through platforms like Ebscohost & ProQuest
  • MEDLINE
  • PsycINFO
  • CINAHL
  • SPORTdiscus
  • ERIC
Registers Registers are places where in-process, incomplete, and completed evidence (such as systematic reviews, clinical trials, guidelines, etc) can be located.
  • ClinicalTrials.Gov
  • PeDRO
  • Cochrane Library
  • OSF Registry
  • PROSPERO
Citation Indices

Often easily confused for a database, a Citation Index is a collection of searchable article records from a variety of publishers, but the function of the database also allows the user to easily establish which later documents cite which earlier. documents.

Citation Indices are best for hand searching and cited reference searches as they lack detailed index terminology, but can be used well in systematic searching.
  • Web of Science
  • Astrophysics Data System
  • INSPIRE-HEP
  • PubMed
Organizations Professional groups and associations that publish proceedings, materials, guidelines, and other reports that may contain evidence and are worth searching.
Websites Public websites with accessible information and reports that may contain evidence

Reporting Where You Search

Regardless of the reporting guideline (PRISMA, MOOSE, MECIR, etc), you should always report the databases and citation indices the following way:

  • Name the databases you searched and what platforms each was searched on.
    • Example:  CINAHL, ERIC, and PsycINFO were searched using Ebscohost and Sociological Abstracts was searched using ProQuest.
  • Name any factors that might influence differential outcomes of searching, particularly in Citation indices like Web of Science, list the indices being searched.
    • Example:  Web of Science was searched, which included the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
    • Different institutions subscribe to different Web of Science packages, and this affects the return of search results, thus impacting reproducibility. Transparency about the search process helps eliminate issues with reproducibility.
  • Google Scholar has poor recall
    • The mechanics of google's search algorithm do not allow for advanced boolean searching nor reproducible filtering or searching
    • Systematic Literature searching relies on exporting all retrieved search results--GS returns thousands+
    • Not designed for the Systematic Lit Search process.