UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Marketing Research for PhD Students: Research Resources and Library Services: Citing/Copyright

What is a Citation Manager?

Citation Managers, also known as Citation Management Tools, are designed to help the research workflow.

Each tool has different features but in general, many can help you:

Keep track of articles, books, websites, and other resources for your project or paper
Store available full-text PDFs for a specific source
Annotate your sources
Create bibliographies of your sources for various citation styles
Use plug-ins to insert in-text citations as you write.

Open Source/Free Citation Managers

Zotero
Zotero is an open source, freely available desktop and web-based citation management tool that allows you to manage citations, create bibliographies, and import references from databases. It can convert stored citations into formatted bibliographies. Formatting styles include APA, Chicago, and MLA (among others). To store your citations, you are required to register with the site. Creating an account is free.

The account you set up with Zotero is separate from your UWM accounts and you will be able to use it anywhere, even after you leave UWM. It also has a robust help and tutorial community. It offers many of the same features as RefWorks, such as the ability to insert citations and format bibliographies in Word and Google Docs as you write using a plug-in.

Zotero Tutorials

Zotero Support

Mendeley
Mendeley is a citation management tool that allows you to Add papers directly from your browser with a few clicks or import any documents from your desktop. Access your library from anywhere. Windows, Mac, Linux and all browsers. It also allows you to Generate references, citations and bibliographies in a whole range of journal styles with just a few clicks.

The account you set up with Mendeley is separate from your UWM accounts and you will be able to use it anywhere, even after you leave UWM. It also has a robust help and tutorial community. It offers many of the same features as RefWorks, such as the ability to insert citations and format bibliographies in Word and Google Docs as you write using a plug-in.

Mendeley Tutorials

</p>

Mendeley Help Guides

EndNote Web
EndNote Web is a freely available web-based citation management tool. It allows you to store up to 50,000 references and up to 2 GB of pdfs. it allows you to Collect references by searching online databases or importing your existing collection; Organize and group references in any way that works for you. Then share your groups with colleagues; and Use a plugin to format bibliographies and cite references while you write.

The account you set up with EndNote is separate from your UWM accounts and you will be able to use it anywhere, even after you leave UWM. It also has a robust help and tutorial community. It offers many of the same features as RefWorks, such as the ability to insert citations and format bibliographies in Word and Google Docs as you write using a plug-in.