UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Art 3D Multidisciplinary Capstone: Find Scholarly Sources

Recommended Databases for Art Research

Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists. PLEASE NOTE: The UWM Libraries has 3 simultaneous users for this service. If you can not access the service please try again later.
Art Full Text
Art Full Text covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.
JSTOR
(JSTOR has temporarily activated all archive and primary source collections until June 30, 2023.) Archival and current issues of more than 2,400 scholarly journals across more than 60 academic disciplines (title lists) along with a growing number of open access ebooks. The UW-Milwaukee Libraries have acquired access to JSTOR collections Arts and Sciences I-VIII and the subject collections for Biological Sciences, Jewish Studies and Ireland.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete is an index of articles in communication and mass media, communication sciences and disorders. It does include some full text.
Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content. The database includes full text for more than 890 journals.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.

Call Numbers for Three Dimensional Art and Art History

Below is a list of call number classes to locate Art and Art History books in the Golda Meir Library. Subject classes are also shown on the GML floorplans.

Call Number Class	Subject	Location
N	Visual Arts	2nd Floor West
NB	Sculpture	2nd Floor West
NK1-(9990)	Decorative Arts	2nd Floor West
NK1-570	General
NK600-806	History
NK1135-1149.5	Arts and crafts movement
NK1160-1590	Decoration and ornament. Design
NK1160-1174	General
NK 1175-(1498)	History
NK1505-1535	General works
NK1548-1590	Special subjects for design
NK1648-1678	Religious art
NK2200-2750	Furniture
NK2775-2898	Rugs and carpets
NK2975-3049	Tapestries
NK3175-3296.3	Upholstery. Drapery
NK3375-3496.3	Wallpapers
NK3600-(9990)	Other arts and art industries
NK3700-4695	Ceramics
NK4700-4890	Costume
NK5100-5440	Glass
NK5500-6060	Glyptic arts
NK6400-8459	Metalwork
NK8800-9505.5	Textiles
NK9600-9955	Woodwork
NX	Arts in General	2nd Floor West
TT1-999	Handicrafts	Lower Level East
TT180-200	Woodworking. Furniture making. Upholstering
TT201-203	Lathework. Turning
TT205-267	Metalworking
TT490-695	Clothing manufacture. Dressmaking. Tailoring
TT697-927	Home arts. Homecrafts (sewing, embroidery, decorative crafts)

Highlighted Three-Dimensional Art Books from the Collection

Artistic Ambivalence in Clay by Lee Courtney Weida
ISBN: 9781443828727
Publication Date: 2011-05-01
This book is a collection of glimpses into the lives and works of fifteen prominent women artists in contemporary ceramics. Spanning multiple genres, generations, and geographies, these potters and ceramic sculptors describe nuances, contradictions, and tensions surrounding their artworks, artistic processes, and professional lives. Within this text, artistic ambivalences are questioned and analyzed in terms of myriad gender issues.
The Figure in Clay: Contemporary Sculpting Techniques by Master Artists by Suzanne J. E. Tourtillott; Lark Books Staff
ISBN: 1579906117
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
Nine master artists present their personal approaches to sculpting the human figure in a spectacular volume that’s technically illuminating and visually inspirational. The outstanding examples range from representational to abstract, diminutive to heroic. Nan Smith uses mold-making techniques and precise slab construction; Akio Takamori coil-builds a figure inspired by a Vel squez painting; and Christyl Boger creates a lavishly decorated, classically formal figurine. Each featured sculptor discusses the unique attractions and challenges of his or her method; detailed color photographs follow the artwork as it takes shape. Noted ceramics writer Glen R. Brown provides an insightful introduction.
The Uncertainty of Objects and Ideas by Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden (Created by)
ISBN: 9780978906306
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
This thematic selection of recent work from nine established and emerging international sculptors--the eldest born in 1947 and the youngest in 1974--collects the ways they are giving shape to the fleeting, ephemeral, theoretical and difficult-to-explain. From Charles Long's delicate, poetic and personal debris assemblages to Björn Dahlem's quirky, elegant models of black holes and Andrea Cohen's styrofoam and packing-peanut networks, their works are inspired by and address the history of their medium, as they explore how it can continue to challenge and expand our ways of seeing. The Uncertainty of Objects and Ideas is not only a look at current trends, but a tool in placing this new work within the history of Modern sculpture.
What about Power? Inquiries into Contemporary Sculpture by Mary Ceruti (Editor); Ruba Katrib (Editor)
ISBN: 9781908966841
Publication Date: 2015-10-20
What about Power? draws together a range of perspectives that examine the contemporary intersections of power and sculpture. From ritual to monument, sculpture is embedded within various power dynamics, whether political, spiritual, erotic, or otherwise. Sculpture's relationship to power is distinct, as it is engaged with particular spatial and physical realms hinged on considerations of architecture and the body. The book reflects on themes of will, subjugation, desire, fetish, scale, and reflects on the way these relationships have shifted throughout time. The contributors to this publication speak to where they stand now, asking, what are the power dynamics around sculpture today?
Textile Perspectives in Mixed-Media Sculpture by Jack Scott
ISBN: 1861265786
Publication Date: 2003-06-01
This title celebrates the prodigious sculpture created by artists who operate on the interface of mixed-media sculpture and textile art. It reveals the inspirations, influences and creative journeys of over 30 contemporary artists and explains the practical processes and raw materials they use. An introductory chapter contextualizes textile perspectives in mixed-media sculpture and discusses elements that concern the sculptor in the 21st century. The book also offers informative technical information on creating sculpture from plastic, rubber, plaster, plaster, metal and paper.
Art Quilts of the Midwest by Linzee Kull McCray; Astrid Hilger Bennett (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781609383237
Publication Date: 2015-03-15
Abstract Design in American Quilts bestowed institutional recognition of the artistry inherent in these humble textiles. Some who took up quilting created pieced quilts that honored traditional patterns, symmetry, and repetition. Today, adherents from both art and quilting backgrounds incorporate storytelling, digital images, nonfabric materials, asymmetry, and three dimensions-in short, anything goes in the world of art quilting, as long as the result is stitched, layered, and not primarily functional.
Process and Practice: The Fabric Workshop Museum by Susan Lubowsky Talbott (Editor); Nancy Princenthal (Text by); Paterson Sims (Text by)
ISBN: 9780998701813
Publication Date: 2018-03-27
In honor of the Fabric Workshop and Museum's 40th anniversary, 'Process and Practice' tells a story of contemporary art at FWM that highlights process along with product. It documents FWM's history of collaboration with established and emerging artists-in-residence since the 2002 publication of New Materials as New Media. Some of the over 30 artists featured include Mark Bradford, Ann Hamilton, Ursula von Rydingsvard, Richard Tuttle, Sarah Sze, Nick Cave, Theaster Gates, Joan Jonas and Trisha Brown, among many others. Also featured are essays by Nancy Princenthal, Patterson Sims and Susan Lubowsky Talbott, FWM's current director.
Creating Beauty: Jewelry and Enamels of the American Arts & Crafts Movement by Rosalie Berberian
ISBN: 9780764357466
Publication Date: 2019-02-28
Over 530 beautifully photographed examples of jewelry and art-enamel work glow from the pages of this first comprehensive study of the work and aesthetic vision of the American Arts & Crafts Movement. The lives and art of the era's top craftsmen -- 84 jewellers, enamelists, and metalsmith are explained -- with careful consideration to the contexts and influences that shaped them. The belief that beauty should be part of everyday life was paramount in the design reform movements of the early 20th century.
Metalsmiths and Mentors by Jody Clowes (Editor); Russell Panczenko (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780932900814
Publication Date: 2007-01-02
The history of contemporary American metalsmithing is inextricably linked with the academy. Since the 1950s, nearly every significant artist working in metals has trained at a university or art school—fertile ground for innovation and exploration in metalsmithing and jewelry making. The work in this catalogue encompasses hollowware and jewelry, wearable sculpture, poetic and narrative objects, and conceptual installations. The show at the Chazen Museum of Art was produced by guest curator Jody Clowes.
Digital Handmade: Craftsmanship and the New Industrial Revolution by Lucy Johnston
ISBN: 9780500517857
Publication Date: 2015-07-21
Digital Handmade presents eighty international designers, artists, and craftsmen who combine the precision and flexibility of computing and digital fabrication with the skill and tactility of the master artisan to create unexpected and desirable objects and products. These pioneers include Louise Lemieux Bérubé, a Canadian artist whose work integrates photography and weaving; Australian jewelry designer Cinnamon Lee, whose designs explore the relationship between hand and machine; and Japanese artists Nendo, who produce ceramic pieces that employ both digital fabrication and ancient traditional methods.
Out of Hand: Materializing the Postdigital by Ron Labaco (Editor); Ronald Labaco
ISBN: 9781908966230
Publication Date: 2013-11-12
Organized by MAD curator Ron Labaco, this exhibition considers the impact of these new, revolutionary methods of computer-assisted manufacture on fine art, design, and architecture. Through this exhibition, MAD will explore a monumental transition in the way human beings understand creation, from the earliest objects conceived and produced by individual makers through the tools of technological innovation. Today's digital fabrication methods such as 3D printing, CNC (computer-numerically-controlled) machining, and digital knitting unite divergent artistic approaches, offering new opportunities for individual artists, architects, and designers to integrate these skills as vital part of their personal creative processes, representing the fruits of a new movement.
Modern Fabric by Abby Gilchrist; Amelia
ISBN: 9781616899677
Publication Date: 2020-11-03
Step inside the studios of today's modern fabric design stars from around the world. From the bold florals of Kaffe Fassett to the subtle patterning of Naomi Ito to the retro style of design collective Ruby Star Society, Modern Fabric features a sophisticated, eclectic group of designers working in an exciting variety of techniques.