UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Studio Art: 3D: Find Images, Objects, and Works

Find Images in Research Databases

JSTOR
Archival and current issues of scholarly journals and ebooks across more than 60 academic disciplines.

UWM Libraries Digital Collections
The Digital Collections at the UWM Libraries include over 180,000 photographic images, maps, and books drawn from the collections of the American Geographical Society Library, the Archives, Special Collections, and the Curriculum Collection.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
The Digital Public Library of America strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. Contains materials from all the UW System Digital Collections, Recollection Wisconsin, the National Archives and Records Administration, University of California System, the Smithsonian, and the New York Public Library.
Europeana
Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage.

Artvee
Several major museums and libraries have instituted an open access policy by designating most or all of the public domain art in their collections with a creative commons license making them available for use for any purpose with no restrictions attached. Artvee sorts through and aggregates the best of these images in one location to make them easy to discover and download.
Getty Research Institute Photo Archive Guide
Approximately half the holdings in the Photo Archive are represented by descriptive, nonpictorial records in the Photo Archive Database. Searchable by key word and artist name, the database is particularly useful for patrons conducting iconographic or thematic research as searches can be conducted across periods, styles, and media.
Library of Congress: Prints and Online Photograph Catalog
The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the U.S. and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Smithsonian Collections Search Center
Search over 17.1 million records of museum objects, archives and library materials including more than 6.3 million online images, audio & videos and blog posts.
CC Search
CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Creative Commons, the nonprofit behind CC Search, is the maker of the CC licenses, used over 1.4 billion times to help creators share knowledge and creativity online.
Google Images Reverse Image Search
Four ways to search by image via Google: Drag and drop, upload an image, copy and paste the URL for an image, right-click an image on the web (some functions require Chrome browser).

Search for Images of 3D Art in Museum Collections

American Museum of Ceramic Art
As part of its mission, AMOCA preserves and collects significant ceramic achievements of the world’s cultures from ancient times to the present. Our permanent collection, which consists of over 7,000 pieces, is a growing representation of the impact of ceramics on the development of human cultures.
Racine Art Museum Fiber Collection
RAM’s fiber collection is ever-growing. Comprised of installations, wall works, sculpture, clothing, and one of the strongest representations of baskets in North America, it naturally encompasses a variety of processes, media, and conceptual approaches.
Guggenheim Museum Sculpture Collection Online
Featuring over 1,700 artworks by more than 625 artists, the Collection Online presents a searchable database of selected artworks from the Guggenheim’s permanent collection of approximately 8,000 artworks.
Google Arts & Culture - Mediums
Explore collections and works from museums around the world.
Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum
The Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum, located in New York City, is the only museum in the nation devoted exclusively to historic and contemporary design. It's mission is to advance the public understanding of design across the 240 years of human creativity represented by the museum’s collection.
The Metal Museum
As the only institution of its kind in North America, and one of only a few in the world devoted exclusively to metalwork, the Metal Museum leads the way in the celebration, recognition, and promotion of the field of fine metalwork. Ask a librarian if you need assistance exploring the collection online.
Museum of Fine Arts Boston
The MFA is one of the most comprehensive art museums in the world with a collection that encompasses nearly 500,000 works of art.
Museum of Arts and Design
The mission of the Museum of Arts and Design (MAD) is to collect, display, and interpret objects that document contemporary and historic innovation in craft, art, and design. In its exhibitions and educational programs, the Museum celebrates the creative process through which materials are crafted into works that enhance contemporary life.