UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Studio Art: 3D: Cite Images and Works

Copyright and Fair Use for Visual Resources

Artist Rights Society
Artists Rights Society is a unique and inclusive alliance of forward-thinking visual artists who seek to actively participate in the broader economic and cultural vitality of their time. ARS plays a vital role in protecting the intellectual property of artists, at a time when the ability to control the rights of their work is often challenged.
Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for the Visual Arts
Based on a consensus of professionals in the visual arts who use copyrighted images, texts, and other materials in their creative and scholarly work and who identified best practices for using such materials.
Visual Resources Association: Statement on the Fair Use of Images for Teaching, Research, and Study
This Statement on the Fair Use of Images for Teaching, Research, and Study describes six uses of copyrighted still images that the Visual Resources Association believes fall within the U.S. doctrine of fair use.
Find images you can use & share on Google
When you do a Google Search, you can filter your results to find images that offer licenses for reuse. Before you reuse content, make sure that its license is legitimate and check the exact terms of reuse. For example, the license might require that you give credit to the image creator when you use the image.

Chicago Manual of Style (CMS) Citation Resources

Chicago Manual of Style Online
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is completely searchable and easy to use, providing quick answers to your style and editing questions. The Chicago Manual of Style Online incorporates the popular Chicago Style Q&A, a resource that thousands have found as entertaining as it is informative. The Q&A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style. Your queries will return results clearly distinguishable from both the Manual and the Chicago Style Q&A.

Chicago Manual of Style - Purdue OWL
The Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) covers a variety of topics from manuscript preparation and publication to grammar, usage, and documentation, and as such, it has been lovingly dubbed the “editor's bible.”

Caption Images in CMS

Chicago Manual of Style Illustrations Guide
Illustrations, also called figures (and sometimes referred to as artwork or art), consist of images presented separately from the run of text. For the purposes of publication, such images usually consist of individual electronic files optimized for specific publication formats. Illustrations can reproduce anything from paintings, photographs, and line drawings to maps, charts, and examples from musical scores.
Simon Fraser University: Citing Images
Images are sometimes referred to as illustrations, artwork, or art in the Chicago Style, and refer to images presented separately from text (as opposed to an embedded chart or figure). Images, or illustrations, can come in a range of forms, including charts, maps, line drawings, paintings, and photographs.

Example of Captioning in Chicago Manual of Style

Footnote/Endnote

1. Barbara Chase-Riboud, Confessions for Myself, 1972. Black patina'd bronze and wool, 120 x 40 x 12 in. Berkeley, Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive at the University of California- Berkeley.

Bibliography

Chase-Riboud, Barbara. Confessions for Myself. 1972. Black patina'd bronze and wool, 120 x 40 x 12 in. Berkeley, Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive at the University of California- Berkeley. https://webapps.cspace.berkeley.edu/bampfa/imageserver/blobs/46a1ab24-694d-4ee3-a483/derivatives/Medium/content

Cite in MLA Format

MLA Style Introduction
MLA style is most commonly used to cite sources within the language arts, cultural studies, and other humanities disciplines. This resource, revised according to the 8th edition of the MLA manual, offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. For more information, please consult the official MLA Handbook (8th ed.).

Captioning Images in MLA

Citing an image in MLA
How to cite an image from the MLA website, including examples.
Captioning images in MLA
Note: This post relates to content in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook (2016). For up-to-date guidance, see the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook (2021).

Example of Captioning in MLA

Works Cited

Chase-Riboud, Barbara. Confessions for Myself. 1972. Black patina'd bronze and wool. Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive at the University of California- Berkeley, Berkeley. https://webapps.cspace.berkeley.edu/bampfa/imageserver/blobs/46a1ab24-694d-4ee3-a483/derivatives/Medium/content