Oxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists. PLEASE NOTE: The UWM Libraries has 3 simultaneous users for this service. If you can not access the service please try again later.
Generously illustrated with both black and white and full-color photos, this A-Z encyclopedia covers every aspect of American folk art, encompassing not only painting, but also sculpture, basketry, ceramics, quilts, furniture, toys, beadwork, and more, including both famous and lesser-known genres. Containing more than 600 articles, this unique reference considers individual artists, schools, artistic, ethnic, and religious traditions, and heroes who have inspired folk art.
With an international scope, this fully illustrated reference spans the entire history of sculpture, from prehistoric times to the twenty-first century. While devoting significant attention to individual artists and their works, the Encyclopedia also explores sculpture from the vantage points of history, criticism, theory, aesthetics, production, training, and presentation, making this the most comprehensive, in-depth source on the subject ever published.
Material Matters showcases stunning creative interpretations of the most commonly found materials in the world across a variety of mediums. Each book in the series features the compelling ways with which a material's unique characteristics can be cleverly drawn upon or thoughtfully transformed by artists and designers to shape the outcome of a particular project; along with key insights and the popular techniques used to bring out its best qualities.
Makers follows the development of studio craft--objects in fiber, clay, glass, wood, and metal--from its roots in nineteenth-century reform movements to the rich diversity of expression at the end of the twentieth century. Keeping as their main focus the objects and the makers, Janet Koplos and Bruce Metcalf offer a detailed analysis of seminal works and discussions of education, institutional support, and the philosophical underpinnings of craft. Exploring craft's relationship to fine arts and design, Koplos and Metcalf foster a critical understanding of the field and help explain craft's place in contemporary culture.
Over the last two decades of the twentieth century, the Ceramic Arts Foundation presented International Ceramics Symposiums and in the course of that work, it fundamentally changed the approach of ceramics to the field's modern history, to scholarship, and to criticism.
Fabricated tells the story of 3D printers, humble manufacturing machines that are bursting out of the factory and into schools, kitchens, hospitals, even onto the fashion catwalk. Fabricated describes our emerging world of printable products, where people design and 3D print their own creations as easily as they edit an online document.A 3D printer transforms digital information into a physical object by carrying out instructions from an electronic design file, or “blueprint.” Guided by a design file, a 3D printer lays down layer after layer of a raw material to “print” out an object.
The revision of this successful program provides a comprehensive survey of the textile field. It has been updated to reflect the latest trends in this fast-moving industry. This new edition features a separate chapter on each major type of fiber and a new unit on the consumer use and evaluation of apparel and home furnishings, as well as an abundant use of relevant illustrations. Metrications has been integrated throughout the program where it is appropriate.
Artist Scholar: Reflections on Writing and Research is part history, introduction, and discussion for artists and designers entering, graduating, and employed by the contemporary art academy in the United States. The evolution of art education in the university continues to expand in the 21st century as the variables of craft, skill, technique, theory, history and criticism shift and expand as the perspective of arts-based research is introduced into this professionalized environment
Art and design students today face a wide range of writing tasks - from reflective and self-promotional pieces to reviews, essays and dissertations. This book is an answer to art and design students and staff, disheartened by negative past experiences, who say that they loathe writing, and encourages different approaches to writing - integrating it into studio practice, and promoting the notion of 'warm up' preparations.
Writing About Art walks students through every step of the writing process—from looking critically at art, to researching, to developing a thesis, to revising and polishing a final draft. Questions and examples prompt readers as they study artworks, develop a thesis, structure an argument, and cite research.
David Carrier examines the history and practice of art writing and reveals its importance to the art museum, the art gallery, and aesthetic theory. Artists, art historians, and art lovers alike can gain fresh insight into how written descriptions of painting and sculpture affect the experience of art. Readers will learn how their reading can determine the way they see painting and sculpture, how interpretations of art transform meaning and significance, and how much-discussed work becomes difficult to see afresh.