UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Translation & Interpreting Studies: Find Scholarly Sources

Search in Search@UW

Find articles, UW books, digital collections & media

Databases for Translation & Interpreting Studies Research

If your topic is related to another discipline, you can review the Databases by Subject for the full list of databases relevant to that subject area.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography indexes international scholarly materials, including over 4,400 journals, books, working papers, and conference proceedings on language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. It is updated 10 times a year.
Index Translationum
UNESCO (United Nations Edcuational , Scientific and Cultural Organization)publishes a free, web-accessible database of literature in translation. Use this resource to identify translated works, then search the LIBRARY CATALOG for availability. The database can be searched by original language, target language, translator, keyword and other options. The print predecessor is available in the UWM Libraries with the call number: Z6514 .TZ I42
Web of Science
Web of Science includes three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It indexes over 12,000 journals and 120,000 conference proceedings with the strongest coverage in the sciences (over 8,500 journals), followed by social sciences (over 3,000 journals), and arts and humanities (over 1,700 fully indexed journals). Our Web of Science subscription includes articles published from 1987 to the present; updated weekly. For impact factor information about specific journals use Journal Citation Reports.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete is an index of articles in communication and mass media, communication sciences and disorders. It does include some full text.
Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content. The database includes full text for more than 890 journals.
JSTOR
Archival and current issues of more than 2,400 scholarly journals across more than 60 academic disciplines (title lists) along with a growing number of open access ebooks. The UW-Milwaukee Libraries have acquired access to JSTOR collections Arts and Sciences I-VIII and the subject collections for Biological Sciences, Jewish Studies and Ireland.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch incorporates both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, providing a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
GenderWatch
GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
PsycINFO (APA)
PsycINFO is the core database for searching academic, research, and practice literature in psychology. Search the database for citations and summaries of psychology literature published in journals, books and dissertations. Also search here for psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. It includes over one million citations and summaries. 98% of the materials included here are peer reviewed.

Search for Sources in Languages other than English

For example: You'd like to find books in Spanish about Pablo Picasso to check out from the UWM Libraries and request from other UW-System Libraries.

Start with an Advanced Search in Search@UW
Enter your search terms or keywords in the "Any Field" box (in this case: Pablo Picasso)
Use the "Language" drop down menu to select your language

This first results list includes:

Translations of books that were originally written in Spanish and are now translated into English or another foreign language
Books with Spanish and (usually) English side-by-side translations
Books written in Spanish

To further refine your search to include only untranslated books (i.e., books in Spanish):

You must "Exclude" other languages
The final results list includes only books written in Spanish that are available at the UWM Libraries and other UW-System Libraries

Translating & Interpreting Books from the Collection

Children's Literature in Translation: Texts and Contexts by Jan van Van Coillie (Editor); Jack McMartin (Editor)
ISBN: 9462702225
Publication Date: 2020-08-15
This volume focuses on the complex interplay that happens between text and context when works of children's literature are translated: what contexts of production and reception account for how translated children's books come to be made and read as they are? How are translated children's books adapted to suit the context of a new culture? Spanning the disciplines of Children's Literature Studies and Translation Studies, this book brings together established and emerging voices to provide an overview of the analytical, empirical and geographic richness of current research in this field and to identify and reflect on common insights, analytical perspectives and trajectories for future interdisciplinary research.
Gender, Sex and Translation: The Manipulation of Identities by José Santaemilia
ISBN: 1317641655
Publication Date: 2015-12-08
Gendered and sexual identities are unstable constructions which reveal a great deal about the ideologies and power relatinships affecting individuals and societies. The interaction between gender/sex studies and translation studies points to a fascinating arena of discursive conflict in which our intimate desires and identities are established or rejected, (re)negotiated or censored, sanctioned or tabooed.This volume explores diverse and heterogeneous aspects of the manipulation of gendered and sexual identities.
Personality Matters: The Translator's Personality in the Process of Self-revision by Olha Lehka-Paul
ISBN: 9789461663436
Publication Date: 2020
The analysis of translated texts and investigations into the cognitive mechanisms involved in the process of translation are burgeoning areas of research in translation studies. Personality Matters ventures into a previously uncharted territory in its exploration of the psychological and cognitive characteristics of a translator. Combining psychology and translation process research, this groundbreaking study identifies personality traits that distinguish translators from non-translators, and shows that the translator's personality matters in translation, especially in the process of self-revision.
Queering Translation, Translating the Queer: Theory, practice, activism by Brian James Baer (Editor); Klaus Kaindl (Editor)
ISBN: 1315505959
Publication Date: 2017-09-22
The volume presents a variety of theoretical and disciplinary perspectives through fifteen contributions from both established and up-and-coming scholars in the field to demonstrate the interconnectedness between translation and queer aspects of sex, gender, and identity. This interdisciplinary approach seeks to not only shed light on this promising field of research but also to promote cross fertilization between these disciplines towards further exploring the intersections between queer studies and translation studies, making this volume key reading for students and scholars interested in translation studies, queer studies, politics, and activism, and gender and sexuality studies.
Sense in Translation: Essays on the bilingual body by Caroline Rabourdin
ISBN: 9781000766691
Publication Date: 2020-01-02
This innovative and interdisciplinary work brings together six essays which explore the complex relationship between linguistic translation and spatial translation and argue for an understanding of linguistic translation as an embodied phenomenon. This book offers a unique contribution to translation studies, comparative literature, French studies, and philosophy of language and will be of particular interest to students and scholars in these fields.
Translation and Time: Migration, Culture, and Identity by James St André (Editor)
ISBN: 1606354086
Publication Date: 2020-12-08
This volume brings together ten essays on the relation between temporality and translation, engaging in both theoretical reflection and consideration of concrete case studies. Three major themes run through the essays and facilitate a discussion about the many ways in which the theoretical and practical consideration of temporality may provide new insights and research directions for translation studies. The first main theme is temporal metaphors for translation. The second theme is the relation between translation and modernity as a new experience of temporality. Third is the translation of temporality and the competing temporalities of source and target texts.
Translation Changes Everything: Theory and practice by Lawrence Venuti
ISBN: 0203074424
Publication Date: 2012-12-12
The selection sketches the trajectory of his thinking about translation while engaging with the main trends in research and commentary. The issues covered include basic concepts like equivalence, retranslation, and reader reception; sociological topics like the impact of translations in the academy and the global cultural economy; and philosophical problems such as the translator's unconscious and translation ethics.
The Dark Side of Translation by Federico Italiano (Editor)
ISBN: 1000028283
Publication Date: 2020-02-06
We tend to consider translation as something good, virtuous and bright, but it can also function as an instrument of concealment, silencing and misdirection—as something that darkens and obscures. Propaganda, misinformation, narratives of trauma and imagery of the enemy—to mention just a few of the negative phenomena that shape our lives—show patterns of communication in which translation either functions as a weapon or constitutes a space of conflict. But what does this dark side of translation look like? How does it work?Ground-breaking in its theoretical conception and pioneering in its thematic approach, this book unites international scholars from a range of disciplines including philosophy, translation studies, literary theory, ecocriticism, game studies, history and political science. With examples that illustrate complex theoretical and philosophical issues, this book also has a major focus on the translational dimension of ecology and climate change. Transdisciplinary and topical, this book is key reading for researchers, scholars and advanced students of translation studies, literature and related areas.
Legal Interpreting: Teaching, research, and practice by Jeremy L. Brunson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781944838997
Publication Date: 2022-05-12
Linguistic minorities are often severely disadvantaged in legal events, with consequences that could impact one's very liberty. Training for interpreters to provide full access in legal settings is paramount. In this volume, Jeremy L. Brunson has gathered deaf and hearing scholars and practitioners from both signed and spoken language interpreting communities in the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom. Their contributions include research-driven, experience-driven, and theoretical discussions on how to teach and assess legal interpreting. The topics covered include teaming in a courtroom, introducing students to legal interpreting, being an expert witness, discourses used by deaf lawyers, designing assessment tools for legal settings, and working with deaf jurors. In addition, this volume interrogates the various ways power, privilege, and oppression appear in legal interpreting.