UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Spanish: Find Scholarly Sources

Databases for Research in World Languages

MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography indexes international scholarly materials, including over 4,400 journals, books, working papers, and conference proceedings on language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. It is updated 10 times a year.
JSTOR
Provides access to journal articles, books, images, and primary sources. Contents include the Artstor image collection, archival and current scholarly journal content, and historical documents.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Project Muse
Provides digital humanities and social sciences content with full text access to 350 journals and select full text access to ebooks. Limit to subscribed full text using the advanced search and selecting, "Only content I have access to". Why can't I access some of this content?
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch incorporates both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, providing a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content. The database includes full text for more than 890 journals.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.
WorldCat
WorldCat holds tens of millions of bibliographic records that represent more than one billion items. It encompasses hundreds of languages and all formats, including rapidly growing numbers of electronic resources and digital objects.

Databases for Spanish Language Research

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodical Index) Online
HAPI Online covers political, economic, social, and cultural issues of Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean as well as Hispanics in the United States. It includes citations to articles, books reviews, and documents indexed in over 500 international journals. HAPI covers journals in English, Spanish, French, Italian, Portugese, and German.
Latin American Digital Beat
The Latin America Digital Beat, formerly Latin America Data Base, provided access to three weekly digests covering Mexico (SourceMex), the Caribbean and Central America (NotiCen) and South America (NotiSur). LADB is no longer publishing new content but archival access is available.

SciELO
Journals from Portugal, Spain, and South Africa are also included. The SciELO project is an initiative of the Foundation for Support to Research of the State of São Paulo, Brazil (FAPESP) and the Latin American and Caribbean Center for Information on Health Sciences (BIREME). SciELO was created to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries and provides an efficient way to increase visibility and access to scientific literature.
Redalyc
Founded in 2003, the Network of Scientific Journals from Latin America and the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal (Redalyc) is a network of non-commercial academy-owned Open Access scientific journals. Its goal was to give visibility, consolidate and enhance the editorial quality of Social Sciences and Humanities journals from Latin America. In 2006, Redalyc welcomed all fields of knowledge and integrated journals from the Iberian Peninsula.
Dialnet
Lists almost 1.4 million articles in over 4,000 mostly Spanish journals and magazines, and thousands of books and dissertations. Subjects covered include primarily the sciences and technology, but also the social sciences, humanities, education, business, and law. Open-access database created by a group of Spanish universities under the leadership of the Universidad de la Rioja, Logrono, Spain. Free article-alert service for registered users.
LA Referencia
LA Referencia gives visibility to the scientific production of higher education and research institutions in Latin America, promotes Free and Open Access to the full text, with special emphasis on results financed with public funds.
Latindex
Online Regional Information System for Scientific Journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal

Featured Books from the Collection

Modern Latin America by Peter H. Smith; James N. Green; Thomas E. Skidmore
ISBN: 9780190674656
Publication Date: 2018-10-26
Now thoroughly updated in its ninth edition, Modern Latin America is a vivid interpretive history and a leading interdisciplinary text in the field. Featuring stimulating, anecdotal boxes, it uses case studies to discuss the primary countries and patterns of development in the region over the past 200 years. At every juncture, Peter H. Smith and James N. Green continue the impeccable scholarship of Thomas E. Skidmore. They examine such central themes as the Iberian-New World interaction, racial prejudices and policy, economic strategies, military developments, and U.S. interventionism in Latin America.
A New History of Modern Latin America by Lawrence A. Clayton; Michael L. Conniff; Susan M. Gauss
ISBN: 0520963822
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
A New History of Modern Latin America provides an engaging and readable narrative history of the nations of Latin America from the Wars of Independence in the nineteenth century to the democratic turn in the twenty-first. This new edition of a well-known text has been revised and updated to include the most recent interpretations of major themes in the economic, social, and cultural history of the region to show the unity of the Latin America experience while exploring the diversity of the region's geography, peoples, and cultures. It also presents substantial new material on women, gender, and race in the region. Each chapter begins with primary documents, offering glimpses into moments in history and setting the scene for the chapter, and concludes with timelines and key words to reinforce content.
Delirio americano : una historia cultural y política de América Latina by Carlos Granés
ISBN: 8430623914
Publication Date: 2022
Carlos Granés, uno de los pensadores más sólidos y originales de la actualidad, recompone con gran pulso narrativo el inmenso, intrincado y exuberante puzle del largo siglo XX en América Latina. Por primera vez, los lectores pueden recorrer en un mismo relato las etapas, fuerzas y acontecimientos de una historia tradicionalmente contada de manera fragmentaria y profundamente marcada por las complejas relaciones entre cultura y política. El ensayo traza conexiones sorprendentes, muestra reveladoras contradicciones y retrata a figuras como José Martí, César Vallejo, Nahui Olín, Juan Domingo Perón, García Márquez, Doris Salcedo o Caetano Veloso. Desde las primeras reivindicaciones de una América Latina con identidad propia por parte de poetas y ensayistas, el surgimiento del comunismo y el fascismo latinoamericano y la irrupción del populismo hasta la resaca del boom, las nuevas tensiones entre lo local y lo global y la muerte de Fidel Castro en 2016, el libro rastrea el papel de las ideas y las artes en la invención de América Latina y en la construcción de las identidades nacionales durante las dictaduras y revoluciones.
Iberian Imperialism and Language Evolution in Latin America by Salikoko S. Mufwene (Editor)
ISBN: 9780226126173
Publication Date: 2014-05-14
As rich as the development of the Spanish and Portuguese languages has been in Latin America, no single book has attempted to chart their complex history. Exploring the many different contact points between Iberian colonialism and indigenous cultures, the contributors identify the crucial parameters of language evolution that have led to today's state of linguistic diversity in Latin America. The essays approach language development through an ecological lens, exploring the effects of politics, economics, cultural contact, and natural resources on the indigenization of Spanish and Portuguese in a variety of local settings. They show how languages adapt to new environments, peoples, and practices, and the ramifications of this for the spread of colonial languages, the loss or survival of indigenous ones, and the way hybrid vernaculars get situated in larger political and cultural forces. The result is a sophisticated look at language as a natural phenomenon, one that meets a host of influences with remarkable plasticity.

Nineteenth-Century Spanish America: A Cultural History by Christopher Conway
ISBN: 9780826520609
Publication Date: 2015-07-14
Nineteenth-Century Spanish America: A Cultural History provides a panoramic and accessible introduction to the era in which Latin America took its first steps into the Modern Age. Including colorful characters like circus clowns, prostitutes, bullfighters, street puppeteers, and bestselling authors, this book maps vivid and often surprising combinations of the new and the old, the high and the low, and the political and the cultural. Christopher Conway shows that beneath the diversity of the New World there was a deeper structure of shared patterns of cultural creation and meaning.
Twenty-first-Century Feminismos : Women's Movements in Latin America and the Caribbean by Edited by Simone Bohn and Charmain Levy
ISBN: 0228009839
Publication Date: 2021
Twenty-First-Century Feminismos examines ten case studies from eight different countries in Latin America and the Caribbean to better understand the ways in which women's and feminist movements react to, are shaped by, and advance social change. A closer look at women's movements in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, El Salvador, Haiti, Mexico, and Uruguay uncovers broader recurrent patterns at the regional level, such as the persistence of certain grievances historically harboured by regional movements, the rise in prominence of varying claims, and the emergence of novel organizational structures, repertoires, and mobilization strategies. Dissimilarities among the cases are also brought to light, including the composition of these movements, their success in effecting policy change in specific areas, and the particular conditions that surround their mobilization and struggles.
Collective Situations: Readings in Contemporary Latin American art, 1995-2010 by Bill Kelley Jr. (Editor); Grant H. Kester (Editor)
ISBN: 9780822369264
Publication Date: 2017-11-03
In Collective Situations scholars, artists, and art collectives present a range of socially engaged art practices that emerged in Latin America during the Pink Tide period, between 1995 and 2010. This volume's essays, interviews, and artist's statements--many of which are appearing in English for the first time--demonstrate the complex relationship between moments of political transformation and artistic production. Introducing English-language readers to some of the most dynamic and innovative contemporary art in Latin America, Collective Situations documents new possibilities for artistic practice, collaboration, and creativity in ways that have the capacity to foster vibrant forms of democratic citizenship.
Modern Architecture in Latin America: Art, technology, and utopia by Luis E. Carranza; Fernando Luiz Lara
ISBN: 0292762976
Publication Date: 2015-01-05
Modern Architecture in Latin America: Art, Technology, and Utopia is an introductory text on the issues, polemics, and works that represent the complex processes of political, economic, and cultural modernization in the twentieth century. The number and types of projects varied greatly from country to country, but, as a whole, the region produced a significant body of architecture that has never before been presented in a single volume in any language. Modern Architecture in Latin America is the first comprehensive history of this important production. Designed as a survey and focused on key examples/paradigms arranged chronologically from 1903 to 2003, this volume covers a myriad of countries; historical, social, and political conditions; and projects/developments that range from small houses to urban plans to architectural movements.

Science in Latin America: A History by Juan José Saldaña (Editor); Bernabé Madrigal (Translator); Juan José Saldaña (Editor); Bernabé Madrigal (Translator)
ISBN: 9780292795716
Publication Date: 2021-11-03
Science in Latin America has roots that reach back to the information gathering and recording practices of the Maya, Aztec, and Inca civilizations. Spanish and Portuguese conquerors and colonists introduced European scientific practices to the continent, where they hybridized with local traditions to form the beginnings of a truly Latin American science. As countries achieved their independence in the nineteenth century, they turned to science as a vehicle for modernizing education and forwarding "progress." This book provides the first comprehensive overview of the history of science in Latin America from the sixteenth century to the present, assessing the part that science played in Latin American society during the colonial, independence, national, and modern eras, investigating science's role in such areas as natural history, medicine and public health, the eighteenth-century Enlightenment, politics and nation-building, educational reform, and contemporary academic research.
Out in the Periphery: Latin America's gay rights revolution by Omar G. Encarnación
ISBN: 9780199356645
Publication Date: 2016-02-01
Out in the Periphery aims to "decenter" gay rights politics in Latin America by putting the domestic context front and center. The intention is not to show how the "local" has triumphed the "global" in Latin America. Rather the book suggests how the domestic context has interacted with the outside world to make Latin America an unusually receptive environment for the development of gay rights. Omar Encarnación focuses particularly on the role of local gay rights organizations, a long-neglected social movement in Latin America, in filtering and adapting international gay rights ideas. Inspired by the outside world but firmly embedded in local politics, Latin American gay activists have succeeded in bringing radical change to the law with respect to homosexuality and, in some cases, as in Argentina, in transforming society and the culture at large.
Reshaping the Political Arena in Latin America: From Resisting Neoliberalism to the Second Incorporation by Eduardo Silva (Editor); Federico Rossi (Editor)
ISBN: 9780822965121
Publication Date: 2018-04-12
Although a growing literature has analyzed many aspects of left governments, there is no study of how the redefinition of the organized popular sectors, their allies, and their struggles have reshaped the political arena to include their interests-until now. This volume examines the role played in the second wave of incorporation by political parties, trade unions, and social movements in five cases: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Ecuador, and Venezuela. The cases shed new light on a subject critical to understanding the change in the distribution of political power related to popular sectors and their interests-a key issue in the study of postneoliberalism.
Migrants and Political Change in Latin America by Luis F. Jimenez
ISBN: 9781683400370
Publication Date: 2018-03-30
This book reveals how migrants shape the politics of their countries of origin, drawing on research from Mexico, Colombia, and Ecuador and their diasporas, the three largest in Latin America. Luis Jiménez discusses the political changes that result when migrants return to their native countries in person and also when they send back new ideas and funds—social and economic “remittances”—through transnational networks. Using a combination of rich quantitative analysis and eye-opening interviews, Jiménez finds that migrants have influenced areas such as political participation, number of parties, electoral competitiveness, and presidential election results.