UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: MUSIC 102: American Popular Music: Starting Points

Where to Start

When you're researching music, a good place to start is your class LibGuide, or the Music Collection LibGuide. You'll find listings of the most useful databases, and you'll be taken through the library so that you get all the access the library provides. Another good first step is to make sure you're signed in to the library page.

Music Reference

Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online is the online gateway for access to the Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online and the Oxford Companion to Music.
African American Music Reference
African American Music Reference is a little different from the other databases, because it includes reference sources, biographies, time lines, sheet music, images, liner notes, etc., as well as scholarly writings, all focused on the history and culture of African American music. Best for: biographical projects, cross-format searching.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Online reference resource with entries by expert contributors, including essays, images, and audio examples.

Popular Music Reference

Encyclopedia of Great Popular Song Recordings by Steve Sullivan
ISBN: 9780810882959
Publication Date: 2013
100 Albums That Changed Popular Music by Chris Smith
ISBN: 0313338256
Publication Date: 2006
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin
ISBN: 9780195313734
Publication Date: 2006
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World Part 1 Media, Industry, Society by Dave Laing (Editor); Paul Oliver (Editor); Peter Wicke (Editor); John Shepherd (Editor); David Horn (Editor)
ISBN: 0826463215
Publication Date: 2003-01-30