UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: English 207: Health Science Writing: Locate and Cite Images & Media

Open Images

Google Advanced Image Search
Use the "Usage Rights" filter to find images with Creative Commons licenses.
Flickr
Flicker is a photo management and sharing platform. Browse recently added photographs marked with Creative Commons licenses or used the advanced search to find photos released under a particular license.
UWM Libraries Digital Collections
The UWM Libraries Digital Collections draw from materials in Archives, Special Collections, the Curriculum Collection, Music Collection, and the American Geographical Society Library. Images may be downloaded by individuals or libraries for personal use, research, teaching or any "fair use" as defined by copyright law.
UW Digital Collections
Since its founding in early 2000, the UWDCC has worked collaboratively with UW System faculty, staff, and librarians to create and provide access to digital resources that support the teaching and research needs of the UW community, uniquely document the university and State of Wisconsin, and provide access to rare or fragile items of broad research value. The UWDCC has also partnered with cultural heritage institutions and public libraries throughout Wisconsin to create digital resources. Resources within the collections are free and publicly accessible online.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
NYPL holds more than 180,000 public domain items in its digital collections. Easily limit your search to "public domain" images or explore the public domain collections.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress provides access to noncommercial, high-quality content, from digitized photographs, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, and books, to "born digital" materials, like Web sites. Whenever possible, the Library of Congress provides factual information about copyright holders of the materials but it is up to the user to make decisions about fair use of the materials.
Unsplash
Unsplash provides over 2 million high quality images for free. Photos are openly licensed under the "Unsplash License." All images from Unsplash come from the Unsplash community. Images can be freely used for personal and commercial usages, as long as the images on the site are not used to create a similar or competing platform service

Health Science Specific Digital Collections

Reverse Google Image Search

4 minute video on advanced features of Google Images.

2 minutes on how to use the "reverse image search" in Google Images - to find the original source of a photo to determine where it is from or if it is real and 2 minutes on a specific Chrome browser extension to do reverse image searches.

Citing Images in APA

Images, diagrams and artistic works should be credited to their creators as you would cite any other type of work.

Note:

Images in text are also generally accompanied by a caption that includes copyright information and a statement of permission for use. Please check with your instructor to see if this is necessary.

Tip: You should give as much information as possible about the images that you have used, including these basics:

creator's name (author, artist, photographer etc.)
date the work was published or created
title of the work
place of publication
publisher
type of material (for photographs, charts, online images)
website address and access date
name of the institution or museum where the work is located (for artworks and museum exhibits)
dimensions of the work (for artworks)

In-Text Citations

In-Text Citation (Paraphrase)

(Artist Surname, Year)

In-Text Citation (Quotation)

(Artist Surname, Year)

In-Text Citation Examples

In-Text Citation (Paraphrase)

(Baumel, 2010)

In-Text Citation (Quotation)

(Baumel, 2010)

References

References (Basic)

Artist Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Title of the artwork [Format].

Retrieved from URL (address of web site)

       Reference (No Author)
      Title of work [Type of work]. (Year image was created).
            Retrieved from URL (address of web site)

       Reference (No Author, No Title, No Date)
      Many images found on the Web fall under this category.
      Try to locate the missing information by clicking on the image,
      and/or looking at the bottom of the image.
             [Subject and type of work]. Retrieved from URL (address of web site)

Reference Examples:

References (Basic)

Baumel, A. (2010). Cholera treatment center in Haiti [Online image].
Retrieved October 2, 2010 from https://www.doctorswithoutborders.org

Reference (No Author)
Flu epidemic [Online image]. (1919).Retrieved November 6, 2010

from http://www.history.net/photo/flu-epidemic-art/collections

       Reference (No Author, No Title, No Date):
       [Untitled illustration of a sleeping dog ]. Retrieved December 5, 2010
             from http://www.sleepinganimals/pix.com

APA - Citing online images
Quick guide from the state college of florida about protocol for citing images found online.