UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: English 207: Health Science Writing: Search for Articles

Be Effective - Search in the "Right" Place

Select a database that fits your topic. Each database the library has specializes in particular areas.

For Psychology or Mental-Health related areas, try:

For Nursing or Medical Sciences, try:

For topics that cross multiple areas or are interdisciplinary, try

For athletic performance or technique, try

For more options, visit our A-Z database page - narrow your options by selecting "Health Science" from the Subject drop-down

A-Z Databases
Use this link if you would like to search UWM's entire list of databases in alphabetical order.

ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional provides access to historical and current Congressional information and publications on all aspects of legislation dealing with life and public policy. Topics include scientific undertakings, historical events, social welfare, economic conditions, communication policies, and an endless array of other subjects.
The database indexes and provides full-text for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports (Congressional Serial Set), Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also provides member and committee information and political news, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and the Congressional Record (1985-present).

CDC Policy Resources
This collection of resources, from Office of the Associate Director for Policy and Strategy (OADPS), builds and translates evidence for what works in public health to inform decision makers and to help CDC’s science go further.
Wisconsin Legislative Reference Bureau Digital Collections
Government documents published by legislative agencies, legislator press releases, and statutorily mandated reports by Wisconsin state agencies.
Wisconsin State Legislature
Website of the Senate and State Assembly of Wisconsin, which provides details on the legislature agenda, rules, and policy that has been passed.
WI Lobbying
The Wisconsin Ethics Commission's lobbying website.

These video tutorials will help you maximize your ability to locate college-appropriate academic sources for your research projects.

PubMed Quick Tour: Find Articles on a Topic
A brief tutorial on how to find articles on a topic using PubMed.
PubMed Quick Tour: Find Articles by Subject (MeSH Searching)
A brief tutorial on how automatic term mapping and explosion enhance your PubMed search.
PubMed Quick Tour: What is in PubMed?
Learn what you can find in PubMed, and how it got there.