UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: English 207: Health Science Writing: Find Health Statistics and Data

Library Resources

Note: While these below resources are great sources for finding data sets, you can also find valuable data and graphs from the research papers you've selected. These will commonly be located in the paper's Results section.

Statista has a lot of current data regarding mortality rates, disease, mental health, health risks, and healthcare costs.

Statista is a trial database and is only available through October 12. We recommend that you download any data for your records if you use it in a project.

UWM Health Stats Guide
research guide with links to stat websites/resources, links to national, state, and local orgs

Health Data by Organization

CDC Data and Statistics
From the Centers for Disease Control, browse by topic to locate data and statistics you need.
Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services Research Statistics and Data
This page links to numerous statistical research reports, data applications, and other portals, such as the CMS Data Navigator.
Department of Education - Data and Statistics
A smattering of statistical and datasets for a variety of public education-related resources such as college report cards, public school data, loan data, etc.
FEMA US Fire Administration Data Library
FEMA;'s datasets contain relevant environmental and disaster-related health information.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUPnet )
HCUPnet is a free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.
Health Informatics
from National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)
Health Services Research Information Central (HISRC) - Data, Tools, & Statistics
From the National Institutes of Health, this portal is part of a centralized organizational search platform for accessing data and statistics.
Homelessness Data Exchange
Theses data and statistical reports, available through, HUD, specifically address indicators and factors related to homeless populations.
Housing and Urban Development Data Portal
HUD provides interested researchers with access to the original data sets generated by PD&R-sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, median family incomes and income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.
HRSA Data Center
Aggregated data sets available from the Health Resources and Services Administration.
National Center for Health Care Statistics
A vast collection of health statistics from around the United States. Monitored by the CDC.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services (SAMHSA) Data
Data from the department of health and human services administration on issues related to mental health and substance abuse disorders.
Wisconsin Data and Stats
Wisconsin-specific health data and statistics from WI DHS.
Wisconsin Environmental Public Health Tracking Program
The WI EPHT program focuses on monitoring conditions in the air, land and water for which a strong public health link is known or suspected. Query the system for tables of data on various public health topics.
more...less...
Topics include Asthma, Carcinogenic Emissions, Childhood Blood Lead, Criteria Air Pollutants, Carcinogenic Emissions, Heart Attacks, Public Drinking Water, and Reproductive Outcomes

America's Health Rankings
AHR is provided by the United Health Foundation to provide statistical rankings of US states by a variety of factors.
American Hospital Directory
View hospital profiles from around the United States.
American Nursing Informatics Association
Promotes communication, education, and research in the nursing field.
Dartmouth Atlas Data
Project by Dartmouth Unviersity providing data and visualizations on healthcare costs and utilization throughout the United States.
DataOne
DataOne is an NSF funded repository oriented around environmental concerns that a variety of institutions and organizations contribute to.
more...less...
best used for environmental health information.
Global Health Observatory Data Repository (WHO)
WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for more than 1000 indicators for its 194 Member States. Data are organized to monitor progress towards the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), including health status indicators to monitor progress towards for the overall health goal, indicators to track equity in health indicators, and the indicators for the specific health and health-related targets of the SDGs.
Health: Statistical Resource on the Web from U. Michigan
Maintained by the University of Michigan Library, Government Documents Department
Health and Medical Care Archive
Medical care data sets sponsored by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.
Health System Data Center
Explore state health system performance and policy data through custom tables, graphs and maps
ICPSR
Aggregated datasets from a variety of sources across the social sciences, humanities, and health sciences hosted by the University of Michigan.
Kaiser Family Foundation: State Statistics
Compile data from hundreds of State Health Facts indicators on health coverage, access, and costs, as well as demographic and economic data, into interactive custom reports for a single state or multiple states.
National Health Interview Survey
The National Health Interview Survey is a survey collecting information on the health, health care access, and health behaviors of the civilian, non-institutionalized U.S. population, with digital data files available from 1963 to present. IPUMS Health Surveys harmonizes these data and allows users to create custom NHIS data extracts for analysis.
Population Reference Bureau: Data Center
Demographers in PRB's U.S. Programs have selected key U.S. indicators that can be viewed in map, tabular, and trend chart formats, by state and county. Use the indicator selection button above to select from the available indicators. Use the States button to select profiles by state.
Project Tycho - Data for Health
From the University of Pittsburgh, Project Tycho aims to 1. Standardize data about diseases and their determinants 2. Create machine-interpretable metadata and 3. Make data widely available to users.
State Health Access Database (SHADAC)
SHADAC is a multidisciplinary health policy research center with a focus on state health policy. SHADAC is supported by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and is affiliated with the Health Policy and Management Division of the School of Public Health at the University of Minnesota.
World Health Organization (WHO) - Global Health Observatory
HO programmes compile and disseminate a broad range of statistics that play a key role in advocacy for health issues, monitoring and evaluation of health programmes and provision of technical assistance to countries

First Nations Health Data

CDC and other national datasets often overlook communities or factors when collecting data.

In these cases, it is best to find local or organizational information that will contextualize the struggle of the communities and their specific health concerns and needs.

Native Health Database
Alaska Native Epidemiology Center
Albuquerque Southwest Tribal Epidemiology Center
Great Lakes Intertribal Council Health Publications
Great Plains Tribal Epidemiological Center
Inter-Tribal Council of Arizona
Navajo Epidemiology Center
Southern Plains Tribal Health Board
Tribal Epidemiology Centers
Urban Indian Health Institute The mission of Urban Indian Health Institute is to decolonize data, for Indigenous people, by Indigenous people.

Data and Stats for Population Groups

Additional Statistical Information

Resources containing demographic data as well as general information on statistics and analysis.

U.S. Census: American FactFinder
Demographic profiles of various geographic areas; including population rates, employment rates, and housing information and other data collected in U.S. Census Bureau surveys.
Consumer Expenditure Survey
Demographic information on the buying habits of American consumers for 300 broad product categories; data collected in U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics surveys.
American Time Use Survey
Measures the amount of time people spend on various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing; data collected in U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics surveys.
_____________________________________
Claritas: My Best Segments
Snapshots of demographic traits, lifestyles & behaviors by zip code.
City-data.com
Demographic information on the buying habits of American consumers for 300 broad product categories; data collected in U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics surveys.
ESRI Zip Code Lookup Tool
Snapshots of socioeconomic & demographic characteristics as well as lifestyles by zip code.
___________________________________
American Marketplace (via LexisNexis Academic)
Provides in-depth marketing analysis (demographics and spending patterns) based on data collected mainly from the federal government.
NPD Group: Press Releases
Browse press releases from the NPD Group, a global provider of consumer and retail market research information; press releases often contain statistical data and can be browsed by date and by industry.
Marketing Charts
Collection of 2,500 charts and data files related to marketing, with a special focus on marketing in the media industry.