UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: English 205: Business Writing: Step 2: Search for Articles

* Research Activity

1: Review the Search Terms concept map and the ABI/Inform video on this page.

2: Complete the Step 2 Tasks on the Eng205 Library Research Activity.

Options for help:

► 24/7 online help is available via our Ask a Librarian chat service
(chat live with a librarian or view other options.)

Business Source Premier
Indexes over 5,000 academic journals, trade journals, and magazines covering business topics
ProQuest One Business
Combines multiple ProQuest business information databases - including e.g. the ABI/INFORM Collection and J.P. Morgan Research - to a total of more than 130 million documents. Global coverage in business and economics includes full-text journals, dissertations, and working papers, as well as trade publications, market research reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist. Library Guide

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Indexes scholarly and trade journals from the fields of nursing, bio-medicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Indexes journals in physical fitness, sports medicine, kinesiology, athletic training, sports administration, physical therapy, and occupational therapy as well as more general health magazines.

Access World News Research Collection
U.S. and international news sources offering viewpoints on local, regional and global issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full text of major U.S.newspapers as well as local and regional news publications.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full text of major U.S. and international newspapers.

Local Newspapers

Archive of Wisconsin Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access over 200 Wisconsin newspapers; coverage is from 2005 to the present, with an embargo delay of 60 days.

UWM News

UWM Post
Independent online student newspaper of the University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee.
The UWM Report
Official news site for University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

Still not finding what you need?

Check out the library's Databases by Subject page or try one of the frequently-used databases listed below:

Academic Search Complete
Good starting point for any research topic. Search for articles in newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals.
ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center (EBSCO)
Search for scholarly journal articles, books, conference papers and more on education topics.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Search for scholarly journal articles, trade publications, and more on communication topics.

Click on the image below to see how one student came up with good "keywords" (i.e. search terms) for her research topic: UWM textbook costs.

Need a refresher on keyword searching? Watch these brief videos: