Honors 352: Beyond Burials: Death and Science in Archaeology

The book covers all relevant approaches to obtaining and analyzing archaeological data, including dating methods, quaternary paleoenvironments, human bioarchaeology, biomolecular archaeology and archaeogenetics, resource exploitation, archaeological prospection, and assessing the decay and conservation of specimens. Overview chapters introduce readers to the relevance of each area, followed by contributions from leading experts that provide detailed technical knowledge and application examples. Readers will also find a thorough introduction to human bioarchaeology, including hominin evolution and paleopathology , the use of biomolecular analysis to characterize past environments, novel approaches to the analysis of archaeological materials that shed new light on early human lifestyles and societies In-depth explorations of the statistical and computational methods relevant to archaeology.

In Digging Deeper, Cline answers the questions archaeologists are most frequently asked, such as: How do you know where to dig? How are excavations actually done? How do you know how old something is? Who gets to keep what is found? How do you know what people from the past ate, wore, and looked like? Adapted from Cline's acclaimed book Three Stones Make a Wall, this lively little volume is brimming with insights and practical advice about how archaeology really works.

Dictionary of Artifacts is an indispensable reference for anyone working within the field of archaeology. Entries detail artifact's classification and typology; raw materials; methods and techniques of creation; principles and techniques of examination and identification; and instructions for the care and preservation of specimens. Along with a headword and definition, pronunciations, synonyms, cross-references, and the category/categories also accompany each entry. Drawings, photographs, and extensive annnotated bibliography are included for more complete comprehension

Larsen's classic text provides a comprehensive overview of the fundamentals of bioarchaeology. The text is accompanied by copious case studies and references to underscore the central role that human remains play in the interpretation of life events and conditions of past and modern cultures. From the origins and spread of infectious disease to the consequences of decisions made by humans with regard to the kinds of foods produced, and their nutritional, health and behavioral outcomes. With local, regional, and global perspectives, this up-to-date text provides a solid foundation for all those working in the field.

The Routledge Handbook of Archaeological Human Remains and Legislation provides comprehensive information on the excavation of archaeological human remains and the law through 62 individual country contributions from Europe, Asia, Africa, North America, South America and Australasia. The Routledge Handbook of Archaeological Human Remains and Legislation combines information on the excavation of human remains and the legislation that guides it, alongside information on the current state of physical anthropology across several continents.