UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Honors 352: Beyond Burials: Death and Science in Archaeology: Find Primary Sources

Historical periodicals

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Historical periodicals

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1909-1975) This link opens in a new window
The Chicago Defender (1909-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1999)
The Chicago Tribune (1849-1999) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (1881-2000) This link opens in a new window
The Los Angeles Times (1881-2000) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (1851-2020) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal (1889-2012) This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal (1889-2012) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post (1877-2007) This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post (1877-2007) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995, features more than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Gale Primary Sources
Search across Gale primary source collections, including newspapers, archives, and more.
Newspapers.com Library Edition - World Collection. This link opens in a new window
Newspapers.com Library Edition - World Collection contains historical newspapers from the 1700s - 2000s. Included are thousands of well-known regional, state, and small local newspapers in the United States and other countries. There are 150 Wisconsin-specific titles including the Janesville Daily Gazette, the Racine Daily Herald, the Eau Claire Leader, and many more.

Instructions for Desktops and Laptops
Instructions for Mobile

Find a Paper by Date: Steps for a Computer

Link out to the ProQuest Historical Newspaper Database of your choice
Click on the Advanced Search tab
Set the Publication Date drop-down menu to "On this date..."
Enter the exact day, month, and year into the date field (Month, D, YYYY)
Click on any article title on your search results page. This will take you to a single digitized clipping (Full Text- PDF).
Select the second view tab "Page View- PDF"
Use the arrow buttons to flip through the pages of the paper OR enter "1" into the page number field and click "Go" to start on the front page.

Find a Paper by Date: Steps for Mobile

Link out to the ProQuest Historical Newspaper Database of your choice
Select the hamburger menu in the the upper left of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers homepage
Choose Advanced Search from the list of options
set the Publication Date menu to "On this date..." and enter the specific Month, day, and year of the paper you want to read.
Your search results will display individually digitized articles and sections of the paper (ads, etc). it will be easiest to browse these titles and select articles that sound interesting.

Important: Depending on your phone and its apps, you may be able to download or view individual pages of the paper, but it will be hard to read entire pages or a full paper from a mobile device.

Milwaukee Journal and Milwaukee Sentinel Before 1990 (on Microfilm)

Digital copies of the Milwaukee Journal and Milwaukee Sentinel, precursors to the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel are not available. Early copies of these periodicals are only available on microfilm.

MILWAUKEE JOURNAL (Milwaukee, Wis.: 1890)
Call Number: (MF) AN 06, 1890-1995

MILWAUKEE SENTINEL (Milwaukee, Wis.)
Call Number: (MF) AN 05, 1883-1995

Using Microfilm

The UWM Libraries Microtext Room is located in the Lower-level, West wing of the Golda Meir Library (link to map)
Sign up and ask for help with the Microfilm reader at the Equipment and Reserve Services desk or via phone at 414-229-4673. The Microtext reader can be reserved for 3 hour blocks. Users with a reservation have priority over the machine.
Get the password for the computer hooked up to the microfilm reader from the Equipment and Reserve desk before you start.
Microtext is shelved in cabinets by call number and is self-service.

Milwaukee Journal and Journal Sentinel before 1990 (Online)

Milwaukee Public Library is the only institution that provides digital access to the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel Archives and its past iterations.

MJS Access at Milwaukee Public Library
Milwaukee Public Library holds a subscription from the NewsBank that provides access to: the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel Milwaukee Journal 1884-1995; Milwaukee Sentinel 1844-1995; Milwaukee Journal Sentinel 1990-Current (text only); Milwaukee Journal Sentinel 2018-Current (digital images); Milwaukee Journal Sentinel: Blogs 2005-2016; and Milwaukee Journal Sentinel: Web Edition Articles 2010-Current

This database is available for use within City of Milwaukee libraries and by remote access to City of Milwaukee library cardholders.

Primary Source Collections

Digital Public Library of America
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
The Medical Heritage Library
The Medical Heritage Library (MHL), a digital curation collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries, promotes free and open access to quality historical resources in medicine. The MHL’s growing collection of digitized medical rare books, pamphlets, journals, and films number in the tens of thousands, with representative works from each of the past six centuries, all of which are available here through the Internet Archive. Use subject filters to find materials about your topic.
Images from the History of Medicine (NLM Digital Collections)
Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides online access to images from the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) historical collections. IHM is available through NLM’s Digital Collections, a free online resource of biomedical books and still and moving images. IHM includes image files of a wide variety of visual media including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century.
National Library of Medicine Digital Collections
Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online archive of selected books, serials, archives and manuscripts, and film resources.
Mütter Museum and Historical Medical Library Collections
Through fascinating collections, our Mütter Museum and Historical Medical Library tell the story of medicine through the lives of individuals, the conditions they faced, and the tools and therapies developed to treat them.
Smithsonian Health & Medicine Collection
The Museum's collections of medical science artifacts represent nearly all aspects of health and medical practice.
National Museum of Health and Medicine Collections
The National Museum of Health and Medicine is dedicated to preserving, collecting, and interpreting the objects, specimens, photographs and documents chronicling the history and practice of medicine over the centuries. Our collections represent archival materials, anatomical and pathological specimens, medical instruments and artifacts, and microscope slide-based medical research collections. The collections focus particularly on the history and practice of American medicine, military medicine, and current medical research issues.
History of Medicine & Medical Humanities
The History of Medicine and Medical Humanities Research Web Portal is designed to gather resources in medical history and humanities for students, scholars, physicians, and the public for learning, exploration, and research.
Anatomia 1522 to 1867 - University of Toronto
This collection features approximately 4500 full page plates and other significant illustrations of human anatomy selected from the Jason A. Hannah and Academy of Medicine collections in the history of medicine at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto. Each illustration has been fully indexed using medical subject headings (MeSH), and techniques of illustration, artists, and engravers have been identified whenever possible. There are ninety-five individual titles represented, ranging in date from 1522 to 1867.
New York Academy of Medicine Digital Collections
The Academy is home to one of the most significant historical libraries in medicine and public health in the world, safeguarding the heritage of medicine to inform the future of health. The Library is dedicated to building bridges among an interdisciplinary community of scholars, educators, clinicians, and the general public. It fills a unique role in the cultural and scholarly landscape of New York City through its collections and by providing research services and an engaging roster of public programs integrating medicine with history, the humanities, and the arts presented by its Center for the History of Medicine and Public Health.