Criminal Justice 423: Investigating the Dark Web

This reference text has established itself as the authoritative source covering the key concepts, theories, and methods in criminology and criminal justice. Now over 300 entries, concepts are precisely defined so students have a clear understanding of the history and development of each topic and debate. Each entry maps connections across various fields and issues and includes further reading to extend students; knowledge throughout their studies International: contributions from internationally renowned academics and practitioners ensure that this book is global and comparative throughout

21st Century Criminology: A Reference Handbook provides straightforward and definitive overviews of 100 key topics comprising traditional criminology and its modern outgrowths. The individual chapters have been designed to serve as a "first-look" reference source for most criminological inquires. Both connected to the sociological origins of criminology (i.e., theory and research methods) and the justice systems; response to crime and related social problems, as well as coverage of major crime types, this two-volume set offers a comprehensive overview of the current state of criminology.

The Encyclopedia of Civil Liberties in America examines the history and hotly contested debates surrounding the concept and practice of civil liberties. It provides detailed history of court cases, events, Constitutional amendments and rights, personalities, and themes that have had an impact on our freedoms in America. The Encyclopedia of Civil Liberties in America includes in-depth coverage of: freedom of speech, religion, press, and assembly, as outlined in the first amendment; protection against unreasonable search and seizure, as outlined in the fourth amendment; criminal due process rights, as outlined in the fifth, sixth, seventh, and eighth amendments; property rights, economic liberties, and other rights found within the text of the United States Constitution; Supreme Court justices, presidents, and other personalities, focusing specifically on their contributions to or effect on civil liberties; concepts, themes, and events related to civil liberties, both practical and theoretical; court cases and their impact on civil liberties.

This Handbook presents current and future studies on the changing dynamics of the role of immigrants and the impact of immigration, across the United States and industrialized and developing nations. It covers the changing dynamics of race, ethnicity, and immigration, and discusses how it all contributes to variations in crime, policing, and the overall justice system. Through acknowledging that some groups, especially people of color, are disproportionately influenced more than others in the case of criminal justice reactions, the "War on Drugs", and hate crimes; this Handbook introduces the importance of studying race and crime so as to better understand it. It does so by recommending that researchers concentrate on ethnic diversity in a national and international context in order to broaden their demographic and expand their understanding of how to attain global change.

American Criminal Courts: Legal Process and Social Context is an introductory-level text that offers a comprehensive study of the legal processes that guide criminal courts and the social contexts that introduce variations in the activities of actors inside and outside the court. Specifically the text focuses upon: Legal Processes. U.S. criminal courts are constrained by several legal processes and organizational structures that determine how the courts operate and how laws are applied. This book explores how democratic processes develop the criminal law in the United States, the documents that define law (federal and state constitutions, legal codes, administrative policies), the organizational structure of courts at the federal and state levels, the overlapping authority of the appeals process, and the effect of legal processes such as precedent, jurisdiction, and the underlying legal philosophies of various types of courts.

Prisons in the United States: A Reference Handbook examines the history of corrections in America, detailing how well-intentioned policies intended to "get tough on crime" sanctioned the dismantling of parole systems and resulted in laws that imposed mandatory minimum sentences. These changes contributed to the United States now having the biggest incarcerated population worldwide and the highest rate of incarceration.The book offers an accessible history of the development of the prison system in the United States and analyzes the various problems and controversies associated with prisons in the present day.

The Encyclopedia contains essential information about research designs grounded in both qualitative and quantitative approaches. It includes information on popular datasets and leading resources of government statistics. In addition, the contributors cover a wide-range of topics such as: the most current research on the link between guns and crime, rational choice theory, and the use of technology like geospatial mapping as a crime reduction tool. This invaluable reference work offers a comprehensive survey of international research designs, methods, and statistical techniques, contains data on criminology and criminal justice from Cambridge to Chicago

This book covers such key topics as ethics, causation, validity, field research, research design, and more. The Fourth Edition includes expanded coverage of qualitative research and interviewing, focus groups in criminological research, and snowball sampling, as well as additional examples of student research. Balancing coverage of both qualitative and quantitative methods, the text is packed with real-world examples, practical applications, and Internet research exercises that help you "get" the basics of research methods.

Research Methods in Criminal Justice and Criminology is a core text for criminology and criminal justice research methods courses. It strives to offer a general foundation of knowledge that transcends particular topics or subject areas, allowing students to apply research methods and concepts to a multitude of scenarios. Even though the textbook has been written primarily for criminal justice and criminology majors, there is an underlying recognition that research methods and findings are common among all of the social sciences.

Essays by leading scholars, practitioners, and advocates delineate the latest feminist and methodological approaches in criminological research and offer a hands-on look at how lawyers, public sociologists, academics, and federal researchers grapple with issues of race, class, and gender in their work. This book exposes students to a greater understanding of the range of career opportunities available in criminal justice and criminology: as researchers, professionals, activists, teachers, and practitioners.Examining diversity across these three dimensions, this anthology will become a standard text for introductory criminal justice, criminology, and sociology courses, as well as an invaluable guide for students and ordinary people interested in a career in the criminal justice field.

This volume of the series was designed to provide a comprehensive primer on the existing best practices and emerging developments in the study and design research on crime and criminology. The work as a whole includes chapters on the measurement of criminal typologies, the offenders, offending and victimization, criminal justice organizations, and specialized measurement techniques.

Covers the origins and assumptions behind each theory, explores current debates and research, points out knowledge gaps, and offers directions for future research. Encompasses theory, research, policy, and practice, with recommendations for further reading at the end of each essay. Features discussions of broad issues and topics related to the field, such as the correlates of crime, testing theory, policy, and prediction.

This edition offers an insightful look at the primarily masculine-driven perspective on crime and justice through the lens of feminist theory. The book presents the argument that an increased understanding of the female crime typology, life course, and gender-specific programming will improve social justice for offenders. Discussions on the direct implications of the way society views crime and justice contribute to policy recommendations for helping to improve these views, specifically as they relate to female crime.

With guidance from theoretical considerations through the steps of the research process, this book equips you with the necessary tools to carry out a successful, ethical study. This is a completely updated new edition, and it features A new skills-focused chapter on how to evaluate existing qualitative studies and design new ones. Rich examples from real research making the ideas and concepts concrete New in-depth case studies on fashion counterfeiting, electronic monitoring and youth justice to illustrate the realities of conducting qualitative research A full discussion of the politics of research, issues of access, ethics and managing risk in the field. Thought-provoking exercises reinforce practical research skills

Inside the Dark Web provides a broad overview of emerging digital threats and computer crimes, with an emphasis on cyberstalking, hacktivism, fraud and identity theft, and attacks on critical infrastructure. The book also analyzes the online underground economy and digital currencies and cybercrime on the dark web. The book further explores how dark web crimes are conducted on the surface web in new mediums, such as the Internet of Things (IoT) and peer-to-peer file sharing systems as well as dark web forensics and mitigating techniques. This book starts with the fundamentals of the dark web along with explaining its threat landscape. The book then introduces the Tor browser, which is used to access the dark web ecosystem. The book continues to take a deep dive into cybersecurity criminal activities in the dark net and analyzes the malpractices used to secure your system. Furthermore, the book digs deeper into the forensics of dark web, web content analysis, threat intelligence, IoT, crypto market, and cryptocurrencies. This book is a comprehensive guide for those who want to understand the dark web quickly. After reading Inside the Dark Web, you'll understand The core concepts of the dark web. The different theoretical and cross-disciplinary approaches of the dark web and its evolution in the context of emerging crime threats. The forms of cybercriminal activity through the dark web and the technological and "social engineering" methods used to undertake such crimes. The behavior and role of offenders and victims in the dark web and analyze and assess the impact of cybercrime and the effectiveness of their mitigating techniques on the various domains. How to mitigate cyberattacks happening through the dark web. The dark web ecosystem with cutting edge areas like IoT, forensics, and threat intelligence and so on. The dark web-related research and applications and up-to-date on the latest technologies and research findings in this area. For all present and aspiring cybersecurity professionals who want to upgrade their skills by understanding the concepts of the dark web, Inside the Dark Web is their one-stop guide to understanding the dark web and building a cybersecurity plan.

Covers topics from what the dark web is, to how it works, to how you can use it, to some of the myths surrounding it. Casting Light on the Dark Web: A Guide for Safe Exploration is an easy-to-read and comprehensive guide to understanding how the Dark Web works and why you should be using it! Readers will be led on a tour of this elusive technology from how to download the platform for personal or public use, to how it can best be utilized for finding information. This guide busts myths and informs readers, while remaining jargon-free and entertaining. Useful for people of all levels of internet knowledge and experience.

What are cyber crimes on the dark web? How people are doing business, and which areas are mostly focused on the dark web. This book's objective is to present an interdisciplinary and easily understandable book on the Dark Web. This research will benefit security agencies, security professionals, counter-terrorism experts, and policymakers.