UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Communication 103: Commun 103 Discussion Session

Welcome!

Hello and welcome to your Communication 103 library workshop session!

The goals of today's workshop are:

Assist with finding appropriate databases to search based on your search topic
Identify search strategies for finding relevant articles related to your speech topic
Learn how to properly cite using APA
Discuss finding Milwaukee specific information in UWM's collection and beyond
Complete the Library Workshop assignment and learn new skills for finding additional articles for your speeches

Capture: Choose the right tool for your search

Apply: Apply prior knowledge on your topic to create keywords and searches

Assess: Reflect and analyze what information you have found

Cite: Create a properly formatted APA citation for your source

Helpful resources for today's session

CQ Researcher Online
Great for background research on your topic.
Your topic may be covered in CQ Researcher, which provides analysis and commentary on current and controversial issues in the news. If your topic is covered, you can use a cited source in the article as your second research article in your library assignment.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel digital newspaper. Current content is available as well as a text (back to 1990) and image archive (back to 2018).
GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
MasterFILE Complete
MasterFILE Complete offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
GenderWatch
GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is a database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more. SPORTDiscus is provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre.
PsycINFO (APA)
PsycINFO is the core database for searching academic, research, and practice literature in psychology. Search the database for citations and summaries of psychology literature published in journals, books and dissertations. Also search here for psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. It includes over one million citations and summaries. 98% of the materials included here are peer reviewed.
Search@UW
Search@UW provides an integrated search and discovery experience across a wide range of print and e-resources, including UW System and UW-Milwaukee print collections, digital images, institutional repositories, and huge collections of academic literature.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Large collection of US newspapers, many in full text, as well as news sites, blogs, and newswires from the 1980s to the present (dates vary by title). Includes The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal. Part of Global Newsstream.

Is TikTok the best social media platform?

Yes: 127 votes (26.85%)

No: 346 votes (73.15%)

Total Votes: 473

It is best to wake up early and get started on the day.

Yes: 364 votes (86.46%)

No: 57 votes (13.54%)

Total Votes: 421

Searching for a Milwaukee specific topic?

If your speech topic is about an issue in Milwaukee, you may have difficulty finding a research article specifically about your topic in Milwaukee in our academic databases. There are a couple of ways to approach this issue:

1. Use "Milwaukee" as a keyword in your search in a database like Search@UW because you may be able to find news articles as well as peer-reviewed sources

2. Search your topic without Milwaukee, for example, "human trafficking," and use the articles you find to demonstrate the issue on a larger scale and supplement with Milwaukee specific information from sources like local non-profits and newspapers

3. Search using "Wisconsin" instead of Milwaukee

Helpful resources from the UWM Libraries' Digital Commons:

LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension you can install to enable library links to appear on external websites. This allows you to more easily access content via library subscriptions or request items from interlibrary loan.