Criminal Justice

The Encyclopedia contains essential information about research designs grounded in both qualitative and quantitative approaches. It includes information on popular datasets and leading resources of government statistics. In addition, the contributors cover a wide-range of topics such as: the most current research on the link between guns and crime, rational choice theory, and the use of technology like geospatial mapping as a crime reduction tool. This invaluable reference work offers a comprehensive survey of international research designs, methods, and statistical techniques, contains data on criminology and criminal justice from Cambridge to Chicago

This book covers such key topics as ethics, causation, validity, field research, research design, and more. The Fourth Edition includes expanded coverage of qualitative research and interviewing, focus groups in criminological research, and snowball sampling, as well as additional examples of student research. Balancing coverage of both qualitative and quantitative methods, the text is packed with real-world examples, practical applications, and Internet research exercises that help you "get" the basics of research methods.

Research Methods in Criminal Justice and Criminology is a core text for criminology and criminal justice research methods courses. It strives to offer a general foundation of knowledge that transcends particular topics or subject areas, allowing students to apply research methods and concepts to a multitude of scenarios. Even though the textbook has been written primarily for criminal justice and criminology majors, there is an underlying recognition that research methods and findings are common among all of the social sciences.

Essays by leading scholars, practitioners, and advocates delineate the latest feminist and methodological approaches in criminological research and offer a hands-on look at how lawyers, public sociologists, academics, and federal researchers grapple with issues of race, class, and gender in their work. This book exposes students to a greater understanding of the range of career opportunities available in criminal justice and criminology: as researchers, professionals, activists, teachers, and practitioners.Examining diversity across these three dimensions, this anthology will become a standard text for introductory criminal justice, criminology, and sociology courses, as well as an invaluable guide for students and ordinary people interested in a career in the criminal justice field.

This volume of the series was designed to provide a comprehensive primer on the existing best practices and emerging developments in the study and design research on crime and criminology. The work as a whole includes chapters on the measurement of criminal typologies, the offenders, offending and victimization, criminal justice organizations, and specialized measurement techniques.

Covers the origins and assumptions behind each theory, explores current debates and research, points out knowledge gaps, and offers directions for future research. Encompasses theory, research, policy, and practice, with recommendations for further reading at the end of each essay. Features discussions of broad issues and topics related to the field, such as the correlates of crime, testing theory, policy, and prediction.

This edition offers an insightful look at the primarily masculine-driven perspective on crime and justice through the lens of feminist theory. The book presents the argument that an increased understanding of the female crime typology, life course, and gender-specific programming will improve social justice for offenders. Discussions on the direct implications of the way society views crime and justice contribute to policy recommendations for helping to improve these views, specifically as they relate to female crime.

With guidance from theoretical considerations through the steps of the research process, this book equips you with the necessary tools to carry out a successful, ethical study. This is a completely updated new edition, and it features A new skills-focused chapter on how to evaluate existing qualitative studies and design new ones. Rich examples from real research making the ideas and concepts concrete New in-depth case studies on fashion counterfeiting, electronic monitoring and youth justice to illustrate the realities of conducting qualitative research A full discussion of the politics of research, issues of access, ethics and managing risk in the field. Thought-provoking exercises reinforce practical research skills