UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Data & Statistics: Finding Data & Statistics

Select Statistics Resources

Census Data
The U.S. Census Bureau interface for distributing the Decennial Census of Population and Housing, the Economic Census, the American Community Survey, annual economic surveys, and other upcoming major related statistical files. This site is the primary source for the Census and the current economic census reports. The site is updated regularly with new data as it becomes available to the public.
Historical Statistics of the United States (Millennial Edition Online)

The Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition Online is the definitive source of statistics and data about the United States and is a key resource for American history research from Colonial times to the present. This is an updated version of the print resource. This resource includes statistics from over 1,000 sources and includes more than 37,000 data series. It covers all data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American History. Major categories include: Population, Work and Welfare, Economic Structure and Performance, Economic Sectors, Governance and International Relations.

Pew Research
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.

Polling the Nations

Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 350,000 questions and responses from 14,000 surveys conducted from 1986 through the present in the U.S. and 80 other countries.
Sage Data

Provides access to a wide variety of economic, social, and political indicators including data sets from the U.S. government, the International Monetary Fund, the World Trade Organization, the OECD, Eurostat, the United Nations, the world's stock exchanges, and Zillow. Offers customized graphing and mapping.
Social Explorer

Interactive tool that combines modern and historical US census and demographic data with an intuitive map interface, 1790 to present.
SciTech Connect
SciTech Connect is a portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. SciTech Connect is a consolidation of two core DOE search engines, the Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database. SciTech Connect incorporates all of the R&D information from these two products into one search interface.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics Online
The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics presents data from more than 100 sources about all aspects of criminal justice in the United States. These data are displayed in over 1000 tables.

Here are some useful search strategies for finding the data and statistics you need for your research:

Consider using one of these statistical resources provided by the UWM libraries.

Think about who may be creating data and search their websites/publications

Government departments, like the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), Department of Education, etc. often make data available
Consider non-governmental organizations, like the United Nations, World Health Organization, International Monetary Fund, etc.
Academic institutions also provide information on their institution, such as the UWM Factbook.
Private business often make data available; see this guide on business statistics.

Scan publications for data

Published articles (newspaper and journal articles) may contain data tables and references to data sources.

Add the word 'statistics' or 'data' to your searches

Ask for help