Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Core Databases (Indexes & Abstracts)
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database
The Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database includes the renowned MGA, ASFA, and WRA databases, and provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A & I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Biological Abstracts provides indexing for over 4,200 journals from the fields of anatomy, bacteriology, behavioral sciences, bioengineering, biotechnology, cell biology, clinical medicine, genetics, immunology, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, pathology, pharmacology, physiology, radiation and systematic biology, toxicology, virology, and zoology.
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. The database contains citations for articles from domestic and international journals, monographs and conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.
GeoRef (on Engineering Village)
The GeoRef database provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. The database contains over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Master's theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered. Also searches GeoRef in Process.
[Note that registration is required before use and is only available for faculty, staff and students of UWM. See Research & Course Guides: Chemistry
for more information.] SciFinder is a research tool that identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. Searches Chemical Abstracts, Medline and ChemZent databases simultaneously.
Web of Science
Web of Science includes three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It indexes over 12,000 journals and 120,000 conference proceedings with the strongest coverage in the sciences (over 8,500 journals), followed by social sciences (over 3,000 journals), and arts and humanities (over 1,700 fully indexed journals). Our Web of Science subscription includes articles published from 1987 to the present; updated weekly. For impact factor information about specific journals use Journal Citation Reports.
Compendex (Engineering Village)
Engineering Information (Ei) is the leader in providing online information, knowledge and support to engineering researchers. Through our flagship platform Engineering Village, we provide information research tools specifically focused on the content and intelligence that engineering researchers need to stay informed and up-to-date on the latest information in their field.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
This database is the world’s most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Journal Search to check if a journal is available through the UWM Libraries, either via our direct subscriptions to journals or databases.
EndNote on the web is a complimentary reference management tool to our subscription to Web of Science. To create and use EndNote use "My Tools" tab at the Web of Science site.
Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports
The Journal Citation Reports is an essential resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, and incorporates journals from over 3,000 publishers in 60 nations. There are two editions available. The Science Edition and the Social Sciences Edition. There is no citation report for the arts and the humanities.