UWM Subscribes to 3 commercial streaming audio services
Another excellent source for free streaming is Magnatune - the majority of the classical performers to be found on Magnatune are part of the "performance practice" community, so the performances are particularly interesting for those studying music history, since their aim is to recreate what the music sounded like in its original context. It can be accessed at http://www.magnatune.com.
The contents of Classical Music Library are also linked in Search@UW, so you may find them while searching there... but if you are off campus and choose to search for them there, make sure that you have signed in to the catalog or you won't be able to get the link to work.
American History in Video - American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Digital Theatre Plus - Digital Theatre Plus provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play.
NB: This also includes performances by the London Symphony and from the Royal Opera House - full symphonies, opera productions, and dance too. Do a search for them in the box to bring up all of the entries.
Ethnographic Video Online - Ethnographic Video Online, Volume I provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior with more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
Films on Demand - streaming video collection of over 25,000 high-quality digital programs and video clips, covering topics in the performing arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, business and economics, and health.
Kanopy - provides a streaming platform and a broad catalog of over 26,000 streaming videos to choose from, representing more than 800 leading producers. See the Kanopy FAQ for tips on how to access these videos.
SWANK - 1,000 selected feature films and documentaries produced by major Hollywood and independent studios. Films are licensed for individual student, staff and classroom use but do not include public performance rights.
There are more streaming video products - take a look at them on here
Naxos mobile app.
You set up an account with your own logon/password and then you can use it anywhere! HOWEVER, you must make your account while logged on as a UWM user - either while you're on campus or when you've proxied in.
From the Naxos website:
Creating a Personal/Student Playlist for Naxos Apps
The mobile app was designed with our institutional users in mind, so a subscription through a university, library, school, or orchestra works. It just works little differently on a mobile device than on a computer.
For one thing, it does NOT require any work with IP authentication or the university's proxy server.
To generate a login for the NML app, you should:
1. Visit the NML page for your institution (library, university, school, orchestra, etc.) from a computer by going through the institution’s unique URL: http://example.naxosmusiclibrary.com
2. Navigate to the Playlist area and click “Sign Up” in the "Personal/Student" playlist account area.
3. Create a login on the sign up page. This login, consisting of your email address and a custom password, then becomes your login for the app.
4. Download the app from the appropriate 'store'