WInSTEP Environmental Health Science Program: Teacher Resources

This presentation provides an in-depth look at our current understanding of zebrafish reproduction, as well as a comprehensive overview of some of the most critical factors impacting the breeding performance of this important laboratory animal.

A tutorial on the ethical care and handling of animals used in research.

Focuses on the history of chemical regulations and how to use chemicals safely in the classroom, along with proper chemical hygiene.

This session explains the various resources available to teachers and students for communicating and evaluating the results of research, as well as how to use the LibGuide.

This video highlights the impact the program has on teachers and students. Mentor teachers share their experiences and expertise with the WInSTEP SEPA modules.

Observations about the natural world are the basis of folk knowledge about plants, animals, the seasons, and other natural phenomena. But, this folk knowledge-though generally reliable-is better at describing patterns, than in identifying cause and effect relationships. Therefore, we will apply the process of scientific inquiry to examine the folk knowledge that the groundhog's reaction to seeing its shadow can predict the end of winter. Although this example is light-hearted, the process that we will explore is also useful for developing "habits of mind" of citizen scientists among our students and for addressing the scientific foundations of important societal issues - from environmental quality to emerging infectious diseases.

The purpose of the Guide is to assist institutions in caring for and using animals in ways judged to be scientifically, technically, and humanely appropriate. The Guide is also intended to assist investigators in fulfilling their obligation to plan and conduct animal experiments in accord with the highest scientific, humane, and ethical principles.

It is the Policy of the Public Health Service (PHS) to require institutions to establish and maintain proper measures to ensure the appropriate care and use of all animals involved in research, research training, and biological testing activities conducted or supported by the PHS.

The Office of Laboratory Animal Welfare (OLAW) provides guidance and interpretation of the Public Health Service (PHS) Policy on Humane Care and Use of Laboratory Animals (Policy), supports educational programs, and monitors compliance with the Policy by Assured institutions and PHS funding components to ensure the humane care and use of animals in PHS-supported research, testing, and training, thereby contributing to the quality of PHS-supported activities.

Animal experimentation is widely used around the world for the identification of the root causes of various diseases in humans and animals and for exploring treatment options. However, growing awareness of the sentience of animals and their experience of pain and suffering has led to strong opposition to animal research among many scientists and the general public. This has led to Ethical Committees’ adoption of the ‘four Rs’ principles (Reduction, Refinement, Replacement and Responsibility) as a guide when making decisions regarding animal experimentation.

A comprehensive curriculum on the use of animal models in biomedical research. The curriculum/resource guide is designed to provide information for science teachers and other educators about the nature of biomedical research and the humane care and treatment of laboratory animals.

This curriculum introduces students to the way animal research is conducted, the numbers and types of animals used, alternatives to animal research, rules and regulations involved, and the bioethical frameworks used by those in support of, and in opposition to, this research. Throughout the unit, students are encouraged to consider how their own actions reflect their position on the issue. Lesson strategies and bioethical discussions engage students in science content, as well as promote an understanding of the role of science in society.

One of the goals of science education in the classroom is to help students recognize how scientific exploration can contribute to the well being of humanity and the natural world. Scientific research can lead to better uses of natural resources, treatments for diseases, and preservation of the world’s varied species. As students delve into the processes used by practicing scientists, however, they become aware that research sometimes involves difficult choices. The use of laboratory animals is one area of research that raises ethical and moral questions.

From the Massachusetts Society for Medical Research (MSMR)

Many people have questions about animal testing ethics and the animal testing debate. The humane care of laboratory animals is essential, both ethically and scientifically. Poor animal care is not good science. If animals are not well-treated, the science and knowledge they produce is not trustworthy and cannot be replicated, an important hallmark of the scientific method.

WABRE represents the biomedical research community, provides public education on the role bioscience plays in our lives, serves as an advocate for bioscience and research, and promotes excellence in science education in Wisconsin.

This article discusses the benefits of acclimation and the most commonly-used methods used to acclimatize fish and other inhabitants. The article then provides a detailed step-by-step set of instructions for the Drip Method, the method that is generally accepted among aquarists to be the best-practice acclimation method.

Through a collaborative, state-led process, new K-12 science standards are being developed that will be rich in content and practice, arranged in a coherent manner across disciplines and grades to provide all students with an internationally benchmarked science education. The NGSS will be based on the Framework for K-12 Science Education developed by the National Research Council.

The Framework for K-12 Science Education outlines a broad set of expectations for students in science and engineering in grades K-12.

The Standards offers a coherent vision of what it means to be scientifically literate, describing what all students should understand and be able to do in science.

Website contains numerous curricular resources for science education including environmental science and health, toxicology, alcohol, nicotine, and pesticides.

With over 60,000 members, NSTA provides ways for science teachers to connect with one another, and informs policy makers and the public on vital questions related to science literacy and a well-educated workforce.

BrainFacts.org shares knowledge and resources about the wonders of the brain and mind with the general public, policymakers, educators, and students of all ages.

Project BioEYES is a K-12 science education program which provides classroom-based learning and opportunities through the use of live zebrafish.

Students explore the relationship between chemicals in the environment and human health, utilizing basic concepts in the science of toxicology.

Provides resources for middle and high school science teachers on molecular models.

From the Microscope Imaging Station, this site provides zebrafish extension activities exploring zebrafish embryonic development.

This series on Conversations on Science is sponsored by the Pew Trusts. Each segment is about 25-30 minutes long and covers a wide range of topics.

Lesson plans designed around an environmental question related to lead exposure and lead abatement.

Provides homework resources, ideas for school projects, games, lesson plans, teacher guides, etc. to help students learn more about the environment.

The Foldscope is an inexpensive microscope made from common materials such as paper. It is designed to be made affordably, to be durable, and to give optical quality similar to conventional research microscopes.

This article in The New York Times discusses the importance of using randomized studies in science and math education to evaluate educational programs and materials.

Biology is the study of life. Here, you can browse videos, articles, and exercises by topic.

Bill Wood's leadership has been crucial in several national initiatives and programs, including the development of the influential National Academies Summer institutes on Undergraduate Education in Biology. He has also catalyzed change in education through his service as Editor-in-Chief of CBE-Life Sciences Education, a peer-reviewed journal published by the American Society for Cell Biology, in editorial partnership with the GSA.

Sponsored by NIEHS, this website just for kids provides many resources about environmental health, how science works, healthy living, pollution, recycling and the natural world.

Provides useful links for K-12 teachers involved in STEM education.

NIH’s Intramural Research Program recently launched a new podcast featuring conversations with biomedical scientists and clinicians from across NIH institutes and centers.

From the Institute of Education Services at the U.S. Department of Education, this site provides information about studies that provide credible and reliable evidence of the effectiveness of a given practice, program, product, or policy. Their goal is to answer the question, "What works in education?"

This website from Penn State provides a library of zebrafish virtual slides.

Zebrafish in the Classroom is designed to be a resource for teachers and students. The site contains techniques for raising zebrafish in the classroom, producing embryos, additional experiments, games, and a glossary.

JEI is a scientific journal for middle and high school scientists.

Funded by NSF/NIGMS HHMI, iBiology provides free on-demand science lectures, short talks, videos, and educational materials to complement classroom teaching.

This is a link to the product catalog of NASCO, where you can get prepared microscope slides of earthworms and preserved earthworms for dissection.

Poster created to celebrate the discoveries of the past, the innovation of today's science, and the promise of new approaches and technologies that will continue to expand the field of toxicology.

Includes health and safety topics;data and statistics; emergency preparedness and response; environmental health;life stages and populations;healthy living; injury, violence and safety; travelers' health; and workplace safety and health. It also has news.

Contains links to several customizable PowerPoint presentations covering topics in children's environmental health, including careers in environmental health.

The Faststats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

www.health.gov is a portal to the Web sites of a number of multi-agency health initiatives and activities. The portal has information on general health, health news, federal agencies and special initiatives.

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services federal Web site makes health prevention information accessible, including those with limited time or understanding of medical terminology. It is available in both English and Spanish.

We can measure our personal carbon footprints by calculating how much greenhouse gas our activities produce. The CHALLENGE involves understanding the causes of climate change and then envisioning and embodying effective solutions so we, as a planet, can avoid the worst potential consequences.

Currently the Health Science Guide
contains over 141,100 Medical Cases & Grand Rounds;
1,585 Courses/Textbooks; 67,900 Teaching Modules & Files; 550 Journals; 4,800 Databases, Atlases & Image Databases; & 1,000's of Videos/Movies.

Originated in 1998; National Library of Medicine's selective list of authoritative health information sources from the National Institutes of Health and other government and professional organizations in the U.S. Updated nightly.

The Pesticide Action Network (PAN) Pesticide Database is a one-stop location for toxicity and regulatory information for pesticides.

An introductory toxicology textbook that examines the health effects of common chemical agents (e.g., lead, mercury, caffeine, alcohol, nicotine, etc.) and places toxicology within the framework of our daily lives.

Sponsored by Stanford Hospital & Clinics, Stanford Health Library provides scientifically-based medical information to help people make informed decisions about their health and health care.

Contains a flowchart for screening children living in Wisconsin, background information for the lead screening program, and screening recommendations.

WHO is the leading authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

The face of science is changing. Increased diversity within the world of environmental health research is spurring the innovative ideas and solutions to push our planet forward in a healthy, more just direction.

In the first episode of our new season, "Conversations on Science," we go in depth with Dr. Anthony Fauci, director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, to explore how he came to love science, his current perspective on COVID-19, the evolving nature of research, and how science informs policy.

Science is part of our daily lives—from the tangible products we touch, which were created based on scientific discoveries, to the methods we use to make choices, such as how to cook or what to buy. Yet for many of us, the true nature of science remains somewhat mysterious. In episode 2 of our new season, "Conversations on Science," we explore the scientific process and what truly makes science, well, science with Ira Flatow, host of the radio program "Science Friday," and theoretical physicist Carlo Rovelli.